follow us on...

HEADstrong National Team heads to Amsterdam for International tourney

Tuesday, 11th June 2013

Categories Boy's/Men's, HEADstrong, International, Posted 6/11/13
From Press Release

A lacrosse team representing the HEADstrong Foundation™ will board a plane headed for Amsterdam to compete at the Amsterdam Lowlands Lacrosse Games June 28th-30th.HEADstrong Foundation logo

The HEADstrong National Team consists of players from 7 states including Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Massachusetts and New York, representing 20 colleges and universities. The team is being led by HEADstrong Illinois Head Coach Tim Duffy, former UVA All-American and National Champion Matt Kelly and former Wings great Kevin Finneran.

And while the team has their sites on the European championship, they hope to share the HEADstrong mission and pass blood cancer awareness with players from across the Atlantic.

Serving as ambassadors of the HEADstrong Foundation, the team will play in lime green uniforms, which serves as the awareness color for non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma. The team will also distribute awareness bracelets and helmet decals to their opponents after each game. Additionally, members of the team will also have the opportunity to tour the city and experience firsthand the culture of the Netherlands.

The roster is full of talented collegiate lacrosse players, several who have played competitively in high school for the HEADstrong Lacrosse Club. The team is anchored by four members who helped lead the USA U-22 All-Star Team to a gold medal at the World Games in 2010: Zach Johnson, former defenseman from University of Maryland, Rutgers midfielder Anthony Terrinova, Seth Molek, former attackman at Fairleigh Dickinson and TJ Harris a current long stick midfielder at Loyola.

Other HEADstrong National Team Members include:

Kellen McCarty – Marymount University
Sean Sauder (Downingtown West) – Widener University
Peter Moreno – University of Tampa
Zach Friedman – Ohio Wesleyan University
Kelton Heverly (Ridley) – Mount Saint Mary’s University
Kevin Benson (Ridley) – Florida Southern University
Kevin Miller – Saint Joseph’s University
Evan Mulcrone – Ohio State University
Andrew Eidenshink (La Salle) – Fairfield University
Mason Quinn – Quinnipiac University
Ian Hare (Spring-Ford) – Towson University
Dan O’Malley – Marquette University
Tommy McDermott (Ridley) – Chestnut Hill College
Nate Cain – University of Denver
Ryan Eidenshink (La Salle) – Widener University
Jack Kelly – Rollins College

“We are really looking forward to sharing this incredible opportunity with our players,” said Duffy. “We have put together a roster of not only talented lacrosse players but genuine young men that we believe best represent the HEADstrong Foundation.

“Our hope to provide our players with a lacrosse experience of a lifetime. We are looking forward to sharing Nick’s story and the HEADstrong mission with players from Europe. It is so special to have several of our players who have come up through the HEADstrong Lacrosse Club and have witnessed firsthand the impact that the organization has in the blood cancer community.”


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines