follow us on...

Delaware boys’ state semifinals: Salesianum School will aim for 3rd straight crown vs. Caesar Rodney

Thursday, 23rd May 2013

Categories Boy's/Men's, Delaware, High School  

By David A. Willauer, Posted 5/23/13

Jason Kelly scored six goals as Salesianum School claimed a 15-4 victory Wednesday over St. Mark’s in the semifinals of the Delaware Boys’ State Tournament at Tower Hill School.

The top-seeded Sals (16-2) shoot for their third straight state crown Saturday at 2 p.m. at Appoquinimink High vs. Caesar Rodney. The Raiders advanced with an 11-8 win over Cape Henlopen.

Last year Salesianum School toppled Caesar Rodney, 13-2, in the state finals.

Sean Giampietro added three goals and Sam Fink and Troy Reeder each had two for the Sals.

For the Spartans of St. Marks, Joseph Giannaras led with two goals and an assist.

Caesar Rodney 11, Cape Henlopen 8

In the other semifinal at Milford High School, Luke Rankin tallied four goals and Nick Gruwell added two to pace the Riders (15-3).

For Cape, Matt Kane and Blake Mann each led with three goals.

DIAA State Tournament semifinals
Salesianum 15 St. Mark’s 4
At Tower Hill School

Goals –
SM: Joseph Giannaras 2, Matt Walsh, Morgan Madonna.
SAL: Jason Kelly 6, Sean Giampietro 3, Sam Fink 2, Troy Reeder 2, Garrett Cannon, Andrew Witherell 1g.

Assists –
SM: Matt Walsh, James Magnani.
SAL: Sam Fink 2, Bailey Martin, Sean Giampietro, Andrew Witherell, Luke Bianchino.

Saves – SM 12 (Alexander Manges), SAL 5 (Ryan Kern 4/Joshua Croney 1).

Shots – SM 22, SAL 48.

Caesar Rodney 11 Cape Henlopen 8
At Milford High School

CR: Luke Rankin 4, Nicholas Gruwell 2, Thomas Aloe, Sean MacLeish, Krostofer Dejesus, Austin Hayward, Eric Schaefer; CH: Matt Kane 3, Blake Mann 3, Matthew Keen, John Benson.

CR: Austin Hayward 2, Sean MacLeish, Eric Schaeffer, Luke Rankin; CH: John Benson.

CR 13 (John Michael Smith); CH 8 (Anthony Iammatteo).

State Finals Footnotes:

If Salesianum wins on Saturday, it will become the first school in boys’ lacrosse history to win three straight state titles.

Other schools that won back to back titles are Tatnall School (in 1994 and 1995) under Clee Edgar, Caesar Rodney (in 1996 and 1997) under John Coveleski, and Cape Henlopen in 2001 and 2002.

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines