follow us on...

College club lacrosse: West Chester wins NCLL Division II National Championship

Wednesday, 15th May 2013

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 5/15/13
Staff Report

The West Chester Men’s club lacrosse team claimed the National College Lacrosse League Division 2 Championship Sunday with an 8-6 win over the University of Cincinnati at the University of Maryland.

The Golden Rams (17-1) reached the championship by defeating University of Tennessee Chattanooga 14-2, and VMI 10-4.

The West Chester roster has numerous Philadelphia area graduates.

West Chester won the NCLL Division II championship on Sunday

West Chester won the NCLL Division II championship on Sunday

This includes members of the all-tournament team: MVP Joe Kelly (Bayard Rustin), Nate Hare (Upper Merion), Colin Kelley (La Salle), Sean Hagan (Holy Cross, NJ), Mike Gartenmayer (Shawnee, NJ), and Jim Gormley (Ridley).

Other Philly area graduates on the roster are Kevin McDevitt (Cinnaminson, NJ) Joe Lerario (Archbishop Carroll), Emmett Devlin (Henderson), Phil Graziano (Marple-Newtown), Erik Nelson (WC East), Nick Juisti (O’Hara), Ryan Shea (Archbishop Carroll), Matt Louridas (Abington), Billy McDougall (Unionville), Luke Hay (Bayard Rustin), James Breitmayer (Downingtown West), Pete Scalfani (Perkiomen Valley), Keith DeCindis (Strath Haven) Tommy Malone (Avon Grove), John Matz (Pennridge), Dom Enz (Upper Merion), Kyle Fry (Brandywine, DE), Spencer Mills (Archbishop Carroll), Joe Marriotti (Cardinal O’Hara), Dan Crim (Exeter), Kyle Frey (Exeter), Bob Geida (Council Rock North), Brennan Harding (Ephrata), Dan Goldstein (Methacton), Dan Lonsdale (Methacton), and Nate White (Plymouth-Whitemarsh).The team was coached by Matt Amentt, and Anothony Barbera.

Some facts on West Chester’s run:
*17-1 Record.
*12.2 Goals per Game Average.
*Only 4.94 Goals against Average.
*2-0 vs. Division I club teams.
*Won the Conference Title vs. the Pre-Ranked #1 team in the Country.
*Beat two undefeated teams at Nationals.
*Beat the #1 seeded team in the Country for the National Championship.
*Cincinnati hadn’t lost a game in over a year.
*Six players were named to the All National Tournament Team.
– Mike Gartenmayer – D mid
– Nathan Hare- Attack
– Jimmy Gormley- Attack
– Sean Hagan- Defense
– Colin Kelley – Defense
– Joe Kelly – Goalie
* MVP of the National Finals was goalie Joe Kelly, transfer from Arizona State


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines