follow us on...

Cape Henlopen girls win 5th straight Delaware state championship

Friday, 24th May 2013

Categories Girl's/Women's, High School  

By David A. Willauer, Posted 5/24/13

Sara Young scored three goals to lead a balanced attack and Cape Henlopen used a 7-0 run at the end of the first half and start of the second to claim a 12-10 victory Thursday night over Tower Hill in the Delaware girls’ state championship at Dover High.

The top-seeded Vikings (16-1) have won an unprecedented five straight titles and have won 63 consecutive in-state games.

Anna Frederick, Allie Yeager and Karalyn Joseph each added two goals for Cape Henlopen, which turned a 6-4 first-half deficit into an 11-6 six and a half minutes into the second half.

Cape Henlopen has won five straight state championships

Cape Henlopen has won five straight state championships

“Tower Hill was well prepared for us and played a great game,” said Cape coach PJ Kesmodel. “Plus I think the pressure of trying to win five straight titles and having us be everyone’s big game effected us.

“However, our two Phillie-bound seniors (Anna Frederick, Temple; and Sara Young, Penn) came through for us with five goals and great field play. We also shot very poorly 12 for 31, but the kids persevered for the win.”

Tower Hill (14-4), the No. 2 seed, got four goals and an assist from Jenna Chodos and three tallies from Sophia McCoy.

Tower Hill led 6-4 after McCoy scored late in the first half, but Yeager and Frederick scored the final goals of the half to tie it.

The second half saw Cape take over. Young scored 53 seconds into the stanza and the Vikings added four more to lead 11-6 with 19:32 to play.

Chodos, Kiva Walsh and McCoy did score three in a row to draw the Hillers within 12-10 with 4:24 remaining.

Since the Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association Girls Lacrosse Tournament started in 1998, St. Andrew’s has the longest streak of titles at six; followed by Cape Henlopen and Tower Hill with five.

Cape Henlopen 12, Tower Hill 10

Tower Hill
Jenna Chodos 4g, 1a
Sophie McCoy 3g
Megan Cobb 1g, 1a
Alexandra DuPont 1g
Kiva Walsh 1g, 1a
Ellie Wakefield 1a

Cape Henlopen
Sara Young 3g
Anna Frederick 2g
Karalyn Joseph 2g
Allie Yeager 2g
Kat Judge 1g
Joedan Brown 1g
Lexi Woodruff 1g, 1a
Riley Wagner 1a



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines