follow us on...

Atlantic 10 All-League: Duquesne’s Gregory (OJ Roberts), Lowry (Radnor) take top honors

Friday, 26th April 2013

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 4/26/13
From Press Release

Duquesne goaltender Kristen Gregory (Owen J. Roberts) was tabbed Atlantic 10 Defensive Player of the Year as announced by the league Thursday. Also, Duquesne freshman Lib Lowry (Radnor) was named Rookie of the Year.

The top awards, All-Conference and All-Rookie were voted on by the Atlantic 10’s eight coaches. The All-Academic team was selected by a vote of the league’s media relations directors.

Gregory was a key component to Duquesne’s play this season, leading the Dukes to a second-place finish. She ranked 11th in the nation and led the A-10 in save percentage, stopping 119 shots among 251 faced for a save percentage of .474. A junior from Chester Springs, Gregory also ranked third in the league in goals against average among goalkeepers with 800 or more minutes.

Lowry, an attacker from Wayne, ranked eighth in the league in assists (1.12/game). She started all 16 games for Duquesne, scoring 14 goals and 18 assists for 32 total points.

The 2013 Atlantic 10 Lacrosse Championship begins Friday at UMass’ McGuirk Stadium. Top-seeded Massachusetts plays No. 4 George Washington at 1:00 pm and No. 2 Duquesne faces No. 3 Temple at 3:30 pm. The championship game will be played Sunday at 1:00 pm and will air live on CBS Sports Network.

First Team
Katie Ferris, Massachusetts
Caitlin Fifield, Richmond
Sam Stevenson, Richmond
Stephany Parcell (Interboro), Temple

Amanda Kidder, Duquesne
Caitlyn Brostrand (Camden Catholic), La Salle
Tanner Guarino, Massachusetts
Charlotte Swavola (Cheltenham), Temple

Aubrey Green, Duquesne
Kelsey McGovern, Massachusetts
Taylor Blazer, Richmond

Kristen Gregory (Owen J. Roberts), Duquesne

Second Team

Haley Marafioti, Duquesne
Jamie Bumgardner (Gwynedd Mercy Academy), George Washington
Sam Rush, Massachusetts

Meredith Dunn, Duquesne
Melanie Sarcinello (Marple Newtown), La Salle
Julia Falcone (West Chester East), Saint Joseph’s

Caitlyn O’Brien, George Washington
Jenn Seitz, George Washington
Kelsey Sheridan, Massachusetts
Tara Coyle, Richmond
Brittany Hanrahan (North Penn), Saint Joseph’s

Jess Hicks, George Washington

Lib Lowry (Radnor), Duquesne
Olivia Boudreau, George Washington
Julia Lawson, George Washington
Katelyn Fay (Henderson), La Salle
Nicole Troost (Shawnee), Massachusetts
Emily Newman, Richmond

Carrie Kubasta, St. Bonaventure
Genevieve Giblin, Saint Joseph’s
Caroline Hagan, Saint Joseph’s
Rachel Schwaab, Temple

Nicole Tiernan (Washington Township), Temple
Kirstie Connor, Temple

Offensive Player of the Year: Katie Ferris, Massachusetts
Midfielder of the Year: Amanda Kidder, Duquesne
Defensive Player of the Year: Kristen Gregory (Owen J. Roberts), Duquesne
Rookie of the Year: Lib Lowry (Radnor), Duquesne

Coach of the Year: Angela McMahon, Massachusetts

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines