follow us on...

ACC Men’s Coaches Preseason Poll, All-Conference team released

Saturday, 14th December 2013

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Rankings, Posted 12/14/13
From Press Release

Atlantic Coast Conference newcomer Syracuse has been selected as the preseason favorite in the ACC Men’s Lacrosse Preseason Poll. The announcement comes in conjunction with Inside Lacrosse’s release of its annual Face-Off Yearbook.

Head coach John Desko’s Orange received 28 points in balloting among the ACC’s six head coaches. Reigning NCAA Champion Duke and defending ACC champion North Carolina each received 27 points and were selected second. Virginia (16), Notre Dame (15) and Maryland (13) were selected to finish fourth, fifth and sixth respectively.

The Preseason All-ACC Team features 10 returning United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) All-Americans from five of the six member schools, with three selections each from Duke, Maryland, North Carolina and Virginia. Notre Dame had one student-athlete selected to the team.

Duke’s Brendan Fowler who was selected to the Preseason All-ACC Team as the face-off specialist, is the lone returning USILA First Team All-American. Fowler was also named the 2013 ACC Defensive Player of the Year and the NCAA Championship Most Outstanding Player.

Joining Fowler on the Preseason All-ACC Team are five returning USILA All-America Second Team honorees, including Duke senior attackman Jordan Wolf (Lower Merion), North Carolina junior midfielder Chad Tutton, Maryland senior defenseman Mike Ehrhardt and senior goalkeeper Niko Amato (La Salle), and Virginia senior defenseman Scott McWilliams. Maryland junior defenseman Goran Murray (Haverford School), North Carolina junior attackman Joey Sankey (Penn Charter), and Virginia senior attackman Mark Cockerton and senior midfielder Rob Emery are USILA All-America Third Team honorees from a season ago and are also Preseason All-ACC selections.

Rounding out the Preseason All-ACC Team are Notre Dame senior midfielder Jim Marlatt, Duke senior long-stick midfielder Luke Deprey and North Carolina senior short-stick midfielder Ryan Creighton (Malvern Prep), who earned honorable mention USILA All-America honors following the 2013 season.

All 13 student-athletes were also named to Inside Lacrosse’s Face-Off Yearbook Division I All-America Team with Wolf, Tutton, Fowler and Ehrhardt earning first team honors. Cockerton, Sankey, Marlatt, Emery, Murray and Amato were named to the second team, Creighton and McWilliams on the third team, and Duprey honorable mention.

All six ACC teams are ranked in the top nine in Inside Lacrosse’s Face-Off Yearbook Top 20 preseason poll. Duke leads the way at No. 1 followed by No. 2 Syracuse, No. 3 North Carolina, No. 4 Notre Dame, No. 6 Maryland and No. 9 Virginia.

The 2014 men’s lacrosse season gets under way Saturday, February 8. The ACC Men’s Lacrosse Championship will be played April 25-27 at PPL Park in Philadelphia, Pa. The semifinals are set for Friday, April 25 and the championship for Sunday, April 27. A friendly will be played between the fifth and sixth place finishers on Saturday, April 26.

ACC Men’s Lacrosse Preseason All-ACC Coaches Poll and Team

Coaches Poll

1. Syracuse (28)
T2. Duke (27)
T2. North Carolina (27)
4. Virginia (16)
5. Notre Dame (15)
6. Maryland (13)

Preseason All-ACC Team

Mark Cockerton, Sr., Virginia
Joey Sankey (Penn Charter), Jr., North Carolina
Jordan Wolf (Lower Merion), Sr., Duke

Rob Emery, Sr., Virginia
Jim Marlatt, Sr., Notre Dame
Chud Tutton, Jr., North Carolina

Mike Ehrhardt, Sr., Maryland
Scott McWilliams, Sr., Virginia
Goran Murray (Haverford Schol), Jr., Maryland

Niko Amato (La Salle), Sr., Maryland

Brendan Fowler, Sr., Duke

Longstick Midfield

Luke Duprey, Sr., Duke

Shortstick Midfield
Ryan Creighton (Malvern Prep), Sr., North Carolina


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines