follow us on...

NCAA Division I women’s lacrosse Championship Selection show to air tonight

Sunday, 5th May 2013

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, NCAA Women's Final Four, Posted 5/5/13
From Press Release

The 26-team bracket for the 2013 NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship will be announced tonight at 9 p.m. ET on (

The 2013 championship marks the first year that the field will be comprised of 26 teams. The 26-team field will include 13 automatic qualifiers and 13 at-large bids to be announced during the selection show. The field will be selected from 97 NCAA Division I institutions sponsoring the sport of women’s lacrosse. The top-eight teams will host first- and second-round competition with seeds one through six receiving first-round byes.NCAA womens Final Four logo

First- and second-round games of the championship will be held at the campus sites of each of the eight seeded teams on May 10 and 12. Three teams will compete at each of the sites hosted by seeds one through six and four teams will compete at each of the sites hosted by seeds seven and eight in first- and second-round competition. First-round winners will advance to play in the second-round on May 12 which will take place at the same sites. Quarterfinals competition will be held at campus sites on either May 18 or May 19.

The 2013 NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship will be held at historic Villanova Stadium for the first time in championship history. Quarterfinal winners will compete in the national semifinals held May 24, with games at 5 and 7:30 p.m. ET and carried live on ESPN3 The winners will advance to the national championship game, May 26 at 8 p.m. ET, with the game carried live on ESPNU.

Tickets for the championship games in Villanova can be purchased online at!tickets

Northwestern has captured seven of the last eight national championships, including two straight. The latest Wildcats title came in 2012 when they defeated Syracuse 8-6 in the national championship game played in Stony Brook, N.Y.

2013 marks the 32nd year of the NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championships.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines