follow us on...

Vail Shootout: Blynn (Haverford School) helps FCA claim boys’ U-19 championship

Sunday, 8th July 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, Girl's/Women's, High School, Posted 7/8/12
Courtesy of Fellowship of Christian Athletes

After two disappointing losses in the finals of the 2010 and 2011 Vail Shootout Championships, the Fellowship of Christina Athletes (FCA) was finally able to bring home the Vail Lacrosse Shootout Championship today with a 12-10 win over Team Colorado.

FCA won the Vail U-19 championship. Haverford School’s Henry Blynn, who is wearing No. 4 and sitting third from the right in the front row, was a key attackman.

For his efforts throughout the tournament and his four goals in the championship game, Patrick Kelly (Calvert Hall) was named Tournament MVP.

FCA featured Henry Blynn, a recent Haverford School graduate who was one of the team’s top scorers and had one goal today.

“It was an awesome experience being able to practice my faith while also playing with the top players in the country,” Blynn said, noting many of the players were on his team at the Under Armour Senior All-American Game last weekend. “It was also an honor being able to play for such great coaches and developing relationships I’ll have for the rest of my life.”

(A new story will come soon on Team Heather Leigh Albert’s championship in the girls’ U-19 division.)

For the first time since the tournament started on Thursday, FCA was greeted with great weather for the championship game on Ford Field. FCA had eight different players score in the game and got goals from Derek DeJoe, Brett Pearce, Spencer Parks, Matt Dunn, Patrick Kelly, and Case Matheis to build a 6-0 lead that would prove tough for Team Colorado to recover from.

While Team Colorado was finally able to get on the scoreboard in the 2nd quarter, it was never able to pull within two goals of FCA as FCA won its first ever Vail Shootout Championship. This year’s team marked the 20th Anniversary of FCA’s 1st ever team which competed in the 1992 Vail Lacrosse Shootout.

In addition to Kelly being named MVP of the tournament, FCA placed five guys to the All- Tournament Team. Kelly was joined by midfielders Deemer Class and Kacy Kapinos, defenseman, Matt Dunn and Bobby Duvnjak, and long stick midfielder Tim Stackpole.

FCA 12, Team Colorado 10

Goals – Patrick Kelly 4, Ryan Brown 2, Derek DeJoe, Brett Pearce, Spencer Parks, Matt Dunn, Case Matheis, Henry Blynn,

Assists – Deemer Class 2, TJ Neubauer , Ryan Brown, Spencer Parks, Derek DeJoe

Game Summary
1st Quarter

1-0 DeJoe with a goal, assisted by Deemer Class
2-0 Brett Pearce with a goal, assisted by TJ Neubauer
3-0 Spencer Parks unassisted
4-0 Defenseman Matt Dunn goal

2nd Quarter
5-0 Patrick Kelly goal, assisted by Ryan Brown
6-0 Case Matheis goal, assisted by Spencer Parks
6-1 Team Colorado Goal
6-2 Team Colorado Goal
6-3 Team Colorado Goal
7-3 Patrick Kelly goal, assisted by Deemer Class
7-4 Team Colorado Goal
8-4 Ryan Brown Goal

3rd Quarter
8-5 Team Colorado Goal
8-6 Team Colorado Goal
9-6 Henry Blynn Goal
9-7 Team Colorado Goal

4th Quarter
10-7 Patrick Kelly Goal
11-7 Ryan Brown Goal, assisted by Derek DeJoe
11-8 Team Colorado Goal
12-8 Patrick Kelly Goal
12-9 Team Colorado
12-0 Team Colorado



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines