follow us on...

US Lacrosse National Tournament update: Radnor grad Barnes (Georgetown Univ.) named winner of Aimee Willard Award

Monday, 28th May 2012

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 5/28/12
From US Lacrosse and Staff Reports

Recent Georgetown graduate Kelly Barnes (Radnor) received the Aimee Willard Award as the top collegiate player in the US Lacrosse National Tournament held this past weekend at Stony Brook University.

Barnes, a defender, participated in the Stars & Stripes Division trying out for the U.S. Women’s National Team. She was recently named to the IWLCA All-South Region first team.

Philly girls named to the Seniors All-Tournament team were (from left Iris Williamson (Germantown Friends, Penn), Katrina Geiger (Haverford High, Loyola), Kelly Cross (Upper Dublin, Syracuse) and Caroline Doran (Haverford High, F&M).

In the Seniors Only Division championship, Christina Esposito, Halle Majorana and Alyssa Ferro all had three goals to lead the New York-based Forest team past the Philadelphia-based Royal team 13-12. Esposito, a senior midfielder at West Babylon (N.Y.) High School that is headed to Northwestern, received the Beth Stone Award as the top player in the division.

Iris Williamson (Germantown Friends), Kelly Cross (Upper Dublin), Caroline Doran (Haverford High) and Katrina Geiger (Haverford High) were named to the Senior Division all tournament team. Other Philly girls on the squad were Kristina Abens (Unionville), Alyssa Andress (Archbishop Wood), Cathryn Delong (State College), Leanne Foster (State College), Brooke Kiley (Germantown Academy), Steph Lobb (West Chester East), Lib Lowry (Radnor), Kara Magley (Council Rock North), Lexi Mazur (Strtah Haven), Natalie Miller (Radnor), AnnaElise Morello (Garnet Valley), Kristen Newbrough (Unionville), Kristen Norden (Radnor), and Colleen Packer (Radnor).

Lower New England 1 ripped off five straight goals over a 10-minute span in the second half to break open a tight game and defeat Long Island Metro 1, 14-8, in the championship game of the Onondaga (top high school non-seniors) Flight at the 2012 US Lacrosse Women’s National Tournament, presented by Harrow Sports and the Heather Leigh Albert Foundation.

The victory was the first for a team from the New England region in the top flight since the advent of the Val Walchak Trophy in 1994, which is presented to the winning team in the Schoolgirls’ Division of the US Lacrosse National Tournament. A total of 62 teams competed in the Schoolgirls’ Division this year.

Following the championship game, the Heather Leigh Albert Award was presented to Maeve McMahon of Lower New England. The award has been presented since 1994 to the outstanding player in the Schoolgirls’ Division. Past recipients include U.S. World Cup team members Lauren Aumiller and Katie Chrest, and a host of other collegiate All-Americans and U.S. National Team members. Past recipients Emma Hamm (Baldwin School), a senior at Duke, and Taylor Ranftle, a soon-to-be freshman at Virginia, were on-hand to present the award.

“I was really speechless,” said McMahon, a junior at the Groton School (Mass.) that has committed to play collegiately at Harvard. “Those players that have won it before are amazing.”

The other finalists for the Heather Leigh Albert Award were: Jennifer Giles (Baltimore Metro 1), Kenzie Kent (Lower New England 1), Alexis Maffucci (Long Island Metro 1), Kasey McKinnon (San Diego), Priscilla Reed (DC Metro 1) and Sydney Trentzch (Baltimore Metro 1).

In the other Schoolgirls’ brackets, Long Island 3 defeated Lower New England 3, 10-6, in the Seneca flight. Eastern Shore (Md.) completed its tournament with a perfect 5-0 record by beating Philly 3, 7-5, in the championship game in the Oneida flight. Nor Cal edged state rival San Diego 14-13 in overtime in the final game in the Tuscarora flight. Lower New England 5 added a second championship for the region by beating North Carolina 1, 11-7, in the final in the Mohawk flight. New Hampshire/Vermont 2 edged Pittsburgh, 11-10, in a battle of unbeatens in the Cayuga flight final. Finally, Southern Ohio handled Kentucky/Indiana, 9-4, in the Iroquois flight championship.

Championship Game Scores:
Onondaga: Lower New England 1 d. Long Island Metro 1, 14-8
Seneca: Long Island Metro 3 d. Lower New England 3, 10-6
Oneida: Eastern Shore d. Philly 3, 7-5
Tuscarora: Nor Cal 1 d. San Diego, 14-13 (OT)
Mohawk: Lower New England 5 d. North Carolina 1, 11-7
Cayuga: New Hampshire/Vermont 2 d. Pittsburgh, 11-10
Iroquois: Southern Ohio d. Kentucky/Indiana, 9-4
Seniors Only: Forest d. Royal, 13-12


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines