follow us on...

Team Advil claims Master’s division championship of Summer Lacrosse League of Southeastern PA

Friday, 10th August 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club, Posted 8/10/12

Team Advil won the Master’s championship of the SLLSEPA

Team Advil defeated Riverhorse, 9-7, on Thursday at Shipley School to take the Master’s championship of the Summer Lacrosse League of Southeastern Pennsylvania. This was the second straight title for Advil, which finished the season a perfect 7-0.

Advil jumped out to a quick 4-0 lead in the first quarter and never looked back. Stellar midfield play by Jack Heim, Mike Miller, Gary Mazza, Phil Gagliardi, Kevin Callaghan, Tom Ennis, Ryan McQuade, Sam Alford, and Greg Butler contributed to a solid presence the entire game. Jack Heim won several key face-offs late in the game, despite battling a torn rotator cuff.

In addition to the midfield, LSM standouts Scott Cappelli and Mike Cottone were huge as they both controlled numerous groundballs and led many fast-break opportunities. The attack tandem of Jim Wenger, Tom Robeson, and Joe Kostack started the scoring early and peppered the Riverhorse goalie the entire game.

Defensively, solid team play was evident right from the starting whistle as Dave Waldman, Brian Delaney, Tim McIntyre and Brian Morris combined to shut down the Riverhorse offense most of the game. Goalie Gary Dudek played solid in the net to solidify and complement the excellent defensive teamwork.

Team Advil has finished back-to-back undefeated seasons. This year the team outscored its opponents by a 79-36 margin.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines