follow us on...

Past NCAA men’s, women’s lacrosse champions crowned in Philly region

Monday, 17th September 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Girl's/Women's, NCAA Philly Final Four, NCAA Tourney, Posted 9/17/12

Last week it was announced that Villanova will host the NCAA Division I women’s lacrosse championships (Final Four and title game) on May 24, 26. Meanwhile, Drexel University will be hosting the NCAA men’s championships (Divisions I, II and III) at Lincoln Financial Field on May 25-27.

The following are rundowns of the previous NCAA title games hosted by Philly sites.


Year, Champion (coach), score, runner-up, location

2006 Virginia (17-0) Dom Starsia 15-7 Massachusetts Lincoln Financial Field
2005 Johns Hopkins (16-0) Dave Pietramala 9-8 Duke Lincoln Financial Field
1992 Princeton (13-2) Bill Tierney 10-9 (2ot) Syracuse Franklin Field
1986 North Carolina (11-3) Willie Scroggs 10-9 (ot) Virginia Delaware Stadium
1984 Johns Hopkins (14-0) Don Zimmerman 13-10 Syracuse Delaware Stadium
1981 North Carolina (12-0) Willie Scroggs 14-13 Johns Hopkins Princeton
1973 Maryland (14-1) Bud Beardmore 10-9 (2ot) Johns Hopkins Franklin Field

2006 Le Moyne (18-0) Dan Sheehan 12-5 Dowling Lincoln Financial Field
2005 NYIT (10-2) Jack Kaley 14-13 (ot) Limestone Lincoln Financial Field


2006 SUNY Cortland (18-3) Rich Barnes 13-12 (ot) Salisbury Lincoln Financial Field
2005 Salisbury (20-0) Jim Berkman 11-10 Middlebury Lincoln Financial Field
1992 Nazareth (14-1) Scott Nelson 22-11 Roanoke Franklin Field

Division I

Year, champion, Coach, score, runner-up, location
2007 Northwestern Kelly Amonte Hiller 15-13 Virginia Franklin Field
2004 Virginia Julie Myers 10-4 Princeton Princeton
1997 Maryland Cindy Timchal 8-7 Loyola (Md.) Lehigh
1996 Maryland Cindy Timchal 10-5 Virginia Lehigh
1992 Maryland Cindy Timchal 11-10 (OT) Havard Lehigh
1991 Virginia Jane Miller 8-6 Maryland TCNJ
1990 Harvard Carole Kleinfelder 8-7 Maryland Princeton
1989 Penn State Susan Scheetz 7-6 Harvard West Chester
1988 Temple Tina Sloan Green 15-7 Penn State Haverford College
1986 Maryland Sue Tyler 11-10 Penn State Maryland
1985 New Hampshire Marisa Didio 6-5 Maryland Franklin Field
1983 Delaware Janet Smith 10-7 Temple Penn
1982 Massachusets Pamela Hixon 9-6 TCNJ TCNJ

Division II

2005 Stonehill Michael Daly 13-10 West Chester West Chester
2002 West Chester Ginny Martino 11-6 Stonehill West Chester

Division III
1997 Middlebury Missy Foote 14-9 TCNJ Lehigh
1996 TCNJ Sharon Goldbrenner-Pfluger 15-8 Middlebury Lehigh
1995 TCNJ Sharon Goldbrenner-Pfluger 14-13 William Smith TCNJ
1992 TCNJ Sharon Goldbrenner 5-3 William Smith Lehigh
1991 TCNJ Sharon Goldbrenner 7-6 Ursinus TCNJ
1990 Ursinus Kim Lambdin 7-6 St. Lawrence Princeton
1989 Ursinus Betsy Meng Ramsey 8-6 TCNJ West Chester
1988 TCNJ Sharon Goldbrenner 14-11 William Smith Haverford
1985 TCNJ Melissa Magee 7-4 Ursinus Penn


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines