follow us on...

MLK Tourney: Duke’s Lacrosse Club claims title as Rambo goal in OT tops Mass. power Sweetlax, 11-10

Sunday, 15th January 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club  

By Chris Goldberg, Posted 1/15/12

The Duke's L.C. claimed the MLK Championship by edging Sweet Lax in OT. Sitting (from left): Ryan Ambler, Grant Ament, Jeremy Omrod, Austin Pifani, Matt Barrett, Joe Earley; Kneeling: Coach Jason Christmas, Tanner Peck, Matt Rambo, Parker Self, Tyler Keen, Drew Supinski, Jimmy Case, Rob Kuhn, Chris Daly; Standing: Coach Ebe Helm, Jeff Cimbalista, Trevor Kupecky, Hunter Eaton, Ryan Hibbs, Paul Major, Sean Brown, Asst. Coach Rich Rambo; Missing: Chad Rafferty, Forrest Rall, Anthony Labettii (Photo by Lisa Ament)

Matt Rambo capped a brilliant game with his fifth goal to give the Duke’s Lacrosse Club a scintillating 11-10 overtime victory today over Sweetlax (MA) in the title game of the Tri-State Indoor Winter Championships (MLK Tournament) at Peddie School.

Rambo, a junior committed to Maryland, dodged left and pumped home the winner past goalie Tyler Avallone (Mendham, NJ, committed to Syracuse).

Sweet Lax is based in Duxbury, but also featured several top players from around New England, Long Island and New Jersey. Other notable players on the Sweet Lax roster were Darien (CT) senior attackman Case Matheis (No. 2 Inside Lacrosse Young Gun, Duke), Duxbury (MA) senior Paul Hellar (Fairfield), Salmon-River Central senior attackman Ky Tarbell (Albany) and Garden City (N.Y.) senior attackman Justin Guterding (Duke).

Besides Rambo, Duke’s LC standouts included junior goalie Matt Barrett (Malvern Prep, committed to Virginia) and senior attackman Ryan Ambler (Abington, Princeton), the team MVPs; junior attackman Trevor Kupecky (Upper Merion, Hofstra), sophomore attackman Tanner Peck (Avon Grove, Penn State), junior attackman Chris Daly (Lower Merion) and junior defenseman Austin Pifani (Abington, North Carolina).

Also making key contributions on attack for the Dukes were juniors Tyler Keen (Downingtown West) and Paul Major (Spring-Ford, Delaware) while juniors Chad Rafferty (Malvern Prep, Maryland), Jimmy Case (Pottsgrove), and sophomores Rob Kuhn (Moorestown), Joe Earley (Council Rock North), Hunter Eaton (Conestoga) and senior Sean Brown (Hill School, Franklin & Marshall) also excelled on defense.

The Dukes (7-0 overall) toppled defending champion Hermits (St. Augustine Prep), 8-6, in the semifinals and defeated Lawrenceville, 10-5, in the quarterfinals. Earlier, Dukes finished pool play at 4-0 with a 10-6 win over Rebel Elite. Sweet Lax topped Tri-State Green, 10-8, in the semis.

The Dukes last won the crown in 2010.

“It was nice to win it again; and against real competition,” said Dukes coach Ebe Helm. It was a war.”


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines