follow us on...

Mesa Fresh 2014 wins championship of MVP Summer Team Tournament at Rider University

Wednesday, 4th July 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, Tournaments, Youth, Posted 7/3/12

After losing in the MVP finals last year, the Mesa Fresh 2014 Lacrosse Team returned to complete some unfinished business and was crowned champions of the MVP Summer Team Tournament, held at Rider University, in Lawrenceville, NJ from June 29-July 1.

Mesa Fresh went 7-0 in a strong field of teams, with wins over For the Love of the Game, VLC, True Michigan, Green Turtle & Chesapeake Rock in pool play.

MVP champs – Lying in front: Team inspirational leader and mascot Casey Campbell; Kneeling, L to R: Connor Campbell, Conor Glancy, Tucker Carney, Bryce Womack, Ian Riehl, Henry Crochiere, Christian Giubilato, Alex Mezey, Connor Black, Brent Millichap and Kevin McGeary. 2nd Row: Coach Peter Scott, Coach Pat Carney, Jon Weinstein, Jeremy Larkin, Jack Fischer, Connor Burns, James Holsten, Brendan Bassett, Jeffrey Odiorne, Jake Cresta, Eric Giannetti, Josh Hughes, Trip Traynor, Jake Scott, Matt Heim, Coach Pat Campbell, Hunter Eaton and Peter Cost.

Mesa Fresh then immediately played its semi-final game against the Long Island Outlaws and won a 6-5 decision in searing heat measured at 115 degrees at field level.

The finals was a battle of attrition against a tough PrimeTime team from New York. The 5-4 final was a thrilling overtime victory for Mesa.

Coach Pat Carney pointed out that “it was all about team.”

“This group of players have proven over and over that when they put the team first, they are as good as any 2014 team in the country,” he said. “When they buy into that, as the coaches challenged them to, and as they did in Florida and again this weekend, they are truly formidable.

“They showed tremendous character all weekend and always supported each other and never doubted themselves or the team. They scored two goals in the final two minutes of at least three games for awesome come from behind victories against some very tough teams. In the final, our guys tied the game with 7 seconds left and prevailed in OT. A great tribute to desire, lacrosse IQ and total team effort.”

This Mesa Fresh 2014 team will continue on in December as this solidifies its quest for a second consecutive National Championship, at the Dicks Tournament of Champions, held in Tampa, Florida over the New Year holiday.

The team was coached by Pat Carney, Peter Scott and Pat Campbell.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines