follow us on...

Men’s lacrosse: Murray (Haverford School), Blye (Downingtown East) earn awards at Maryland team banquet

Sunday, 14th October 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 10/14/12
From Staff Report and Press Release

The Maryland men’s lacrosse team and head coach John Tillman recently welcomed back the 2012 seniors that helped the Terps reach the NCAA championship game for the second straight season for the annual awards banquet at Sprint Heritage Hall in the Comcast Center on the campus of the University of Maryland.

Goran Murray (left), Owen Blye

Two Philly grads – Haverford School freshman Goran Murray and Downingtown East junior Owen Blye – received honors for their standout play.

Murray was given the Levitt Memorial Award as the team’s Best Freshman. Murray, who had helped the Fords win the national championship as a senior, was named Honorable mention All-American and All-ACC as well as ACC Freshman of the Year for his play in 2012.

Blye got the Van Trump Award as the Best Overall Attackman after collecting 20 goals and 20 assists and serving as team captain.

The highlight of the afternoon’s awards was the presentation of the Edwin Powell Team MVP Award, which was given to attackman Joe Cummings, who led the team in points and provided one of the truly memorable moments in recent Maryland men’s lacrosse history with his game-winning goal as time wound down in the first round of the NCAA tournament at Lehigh.

The “Big Man” Award, given in honor of former coach Dick Edell. The award was created to honor the player that best exemplified the selfless and positive qualities of the retired coach. The 2012 award was given to defensive midfielder Landon Carr.

The Daniel Slafkosky Coach’s Award was also given out, in memory of former assistant coach Dave Slafkosky’s son, who passed away prior to the 2001 season. Defensive midfielder Pat Morrison was selected as the member of the Terps who best illustrated Dan’s positive attitude on and off the field.

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines