follow us on...

Men’s Fall Ball: Maryland bows to Denver in Seatown Classic despite two goals by Blye (D-town East), one from Lord (Conestoga)

Sunday, 14th October 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 10/14/12
From Press Release

The University of Denver men’s lacrosse team defeated Maryland, 12-9, in a fall-season exhibition Saturday at the Starfire Sports Campus in Tukwila, Wash. The game was the first NCAA DI Lacrosse game played in the Seattle and was a part of the first-ever Seatown Classic.

“I’m just really happy that our guys came and competed against a great Maryland team,” said legendary Denver coach Bill Tierney. “That’s all we told them to do, just come out and compete. We knew the score wasn’t going to mean a lot but we wanted to come out and compete against a Maryland team that has made it to the National Championship game the last two years.”

Denver goalkeeper Ryan LaPlante (Fort Collins, Colo.) earned Seatown Classic Player of the Game honors as he finished with nine saves and seven goals allowed in 45 minutes of action while also scoring his first collegiate goal.

Senior Owen Blye (Downingtown East) had two goals for Maryland and freshman Bradlee Lord (Conestoga) scored once.

Also scoring goals for the Pioneers was sophomores Wes Berg (Coquitlam, B.C.) and Tyler Ekeroth (Baltimore, Md.), as well as seniors Cameron Flint (Georgetown, Ontario) and Tyler Simmons (Belvedere, Calif.). Senior Chase Carraro (Louisville, Ky.) finished the day winning 11 of 18 face-offs to go along with one assist and five ground balls.

Sophomore Eric Adamson (Anaheim Hills, Calif.) and senior Taylor Young (Littleton, Colo.) both finished with two assists each, while Simmons tallied one assist. Senior Chace Calkin (Englewood, Colo.) also saw time at the face-off x, winning 4 of 6 and scooping up two ground balls.

Maryland’s Kevin Cooper led the Terrapins with three goals and two assists, also earning Player of the Game honors. Starting keeper Nicholas Amato led the way with six saves, back-ups Kyle Bemlohr and Thomas Guarino finished with three and one saves, respectively.

Maryland’s Jack Bemhardt opened the scoring four minutes into the game off a pass from Cooper. The Pioneers answered with two straight goals as LaPlante and Law scored. Cooper tied the game at 2-2 with 5 minutes left to play, before Law answered with 3:27 remaining to give the Pioneers a 3-2 advantage. Cooper scored the final goal of the first quarter to make it 3-3.

Denver opened the second quarter scoring three straight goals, as Berg, Ekeroth and Law all found the back of the net. Blye snapped the Pioneers’ scoring streak with a goal at the 5:55 mark, but Pirone answered with a goal at the 4:13 mark to put the Pioneers up 7-4.

Following the halftime break, Maryland scored three straight goals to tie the game at 7-7 as Cooper, Blye and Landon Carr all scored. Koerber snapped the Terrapins run as he scored back-to-back goals to give Denver a 9-7 lead. Lord scored with 53 seconds left in the third quarter, but Flint answered with a goal from Adamson with six seconds remaining.

After Maryland’s James Carlson scored less than three minutes into the fourth quarter, both teams played solid defense till the Pioneers took a two-goal lead off a goal by Pirone with 1:41 left. Denver made it 12-9 in the final 30 seconds as Simmons scored an unassisted shot.

Maryland held a slight advantage in shots (32-31), while Denver led the way in ground balls (25-22). The Pioneers’ goalie corps finished the day with 14 saves, compared to Maryland’s 10, while Denver’s face-off group won 15 of 25 face-offs, compared to Maryland’s 10 of 25.

Score by Period 1 2 3 4 Tot
Maryland………… 3 1 4 1 – 9
Denver………….. 3 4 3 2 – 12

Attendance: 3589

Maryland SCORING:
GOALS: Kevin Cooper 3; Owen Blye 2; Jack Bernhardt 1; James Carlson 1;
Bradlee Lord 1; Landon Carr 1.
ASSISTS: Kevin Cooper 2; Jack Bernhardt 1; Matthew Dunn 1; David Solomon 1.

GOALS: Eric Law 3; Gordie Koerber 2; Mike Pirone 2; Tyler Simmons 1;
Wes Berg 1; Tyler Ekeroth 1; Cameron Flint 1; Ryan LaPlante 1.
ASSISTS: Erik Adamson 2; Eric Law 2; Taylor Young 2; Chase Carraro 1;
Tyler Simmons 1.

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines