follow us on...

Marple Newtown inducting four lacrosse players, 1987 undefeated team into its Hall of Fame on Thursday

Tuesday, 2nd October 2012

Categories Girl's/Women's, High School, Posted 10/2/12

Marple Newtown High School will honor seven former athletes – including four girls that played lacrosse – as well as the 1987 undefeated girls’ team at its 2012 Hall of Fame Banquet and Induction Ceremony, which will take place Thursday at Penn Oaks Golf Club.

The newest members of the Hall of Fame include Judy Mahaffey Busby and Cindy Meehan Carpenter, who played field hockey, basketball and lacrosse; Amy Ziegenfuss Kowalsky and Ashlee Dardine Eckert, who played field hockey and lacrosse; as well as football players Ed Clark and Karl Chandler and swimmer Paul Trevisan.

Meehan Carpenter helped Marple Newtown win two Central League field hockey championships and one league title in lacrosse. At Penn State University, she played on two national championship hockey teams.

Mahaffey Busby also was a member of a pair of field hockey teams that earned the Central League title and also played for two Penn State national championship teams. She was a member of the All-America first team and played for the United States Olympic Development team.

Ziegenfuss Kowalsky was an All-Delco field hockey player who helped Marple Newtown to two Central League championships and also played for two lacrosse teams that claimed the Central League title. She helped James Madison University qualify for the NCAA Field Hockey Tournament four times and was a hockey coach at Villa Maria Academy, Bishop Shanahan High and Mount St. Joseph Academy.

Dardine Eckert was an All-Delco field hockey and lacrosse player. She helped Marple Newtown win the 1999 District One Class AAA field hockey title. She earned All-Delco honors in lacrosse at Marple Newtown and was a lacrosse All-American at James Madison University.

Also, the 1987 District 1 championship team which had an 18-0-1 record and won the Central League title will be honored. That squad toppled radnor in th District 1/state title game and was coached by JoAnn Yusko, whose team celebrated its 25th anniversary during the spring.



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines