follow us on...

Lower Merion sophomore Goldstein wins Dick’s Sporting Goods Trivia Question & $50 coupon

Tuesday, 20th November 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, Girl's/Women's, Posted 11/20/12

This week’s winner; Lower Merion sophomore Abby Goldstein (Quaker City Lacrosse Club)

Lower Merion sophomore lacrosse player Abby Goldstein says her biggest thrill in lacrosse was helping Team Philly win the JCC Maccabi Games gold medal this past summer.

But Tuesday she added another major victory – taking away the $50 coupon by winning the second Dick’s Sporting Goods Trivia Question.

The question was: What four tri-state women’s lacrosse teams have won the NCAA Division I championship and what years did they win it? the answer was Delaware (1983), Temple (1984, ’88), Penn State (1987. ’89) and Princeton (1994, 2002, ’03).

Delaware was the second Division I champion, and the first to win it after the folding of the old AIAW. Chris Goldberg, Owner and Editor, is a 1983 Blue Hen grad and had the good fortune of covering that team for the school’s student newspaper.

That squad included current Swarthmore coach Karen (Emas) Borbee, a Penncrest grad.

Tonight’s runner-up was Wissahickon freshman player Tyson Hugee and the third-place finisher was last week’s winner – Boyertown senior goalie Austin Mutter.

The women’s D1 Final Four championships will be held in May at Villanova University.

Also, check out Dick’s Sporting Goods and use this link to access a special discount on many lacrosse items and equipment, just for readers.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines