follow us on...

Florida coach Moore (Spring-Ford, Temple) named Division I South Coach of Year by IWLCA

Friday, 5th October 2012

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 10/5/12
From Press Release

The IWLCA has recognized 13 collegiate mentors as 2012 Coaches of the Year in their respective regions, with three being honored as National Coach of the Year. One honored is Florida’s Amanda O’Leary (Spring-Ford, Temple), who was named South Region Coach of the Year.

Divisional champions Kate Livesay from Trinity, Meghan McNamara from C.W. Post, and Kelly Amonte Hiller from Northwestern each led their teams to the NCAA title and were selected by their peers to receive the national recognition.

Division I
National: Kelly Amonte Hiller, Northwestern
Mid-Atlantic Region: Jen Adams, Loyola
Northeast Region: Gary Gait, Syracuse
West/Midwest Region: Kelly Amonte Hiller, Northwestern
South Region: Amanda O’Leary, Florida

Division II
National: Meghan McNamara, C.W. Post
North Region: Meghan McNamara, C.W. Post
South Region: Dennis Short, Rollins

Division III
National: Kate Livesay, Trinity
Metro Region: Jen Muston, York
Pilgrim Region: Missy Foote, Middlebury
Berkshire Region: Kate Livesay, Trinity
West Region: Michele Uhlfelder, Occidental
Chesapeake Region: Jim Nestor, Salisbury
Boardwalk Region: Sharon Pfluger, TCNJ
Empire Region: Kathy Taylor, Cortland

O’Leary led Florida to yet another record-breaking season in 2012. In just its third year, the Gators went 19-3 and won both the ALC regular-season title and the ALC Championship, finishing 8-0 on the year against ALC teams. Florida captured 10 wins over ranked opponents, including taking down No. 1 Northwestern twice, the seven-time National Champion’s only two losses of the year. After a 4-2 start, O’Leary’s Gators earned 15 straight victories, two conference titles and their first bid to the Final Four.

The Gators became the youngest program ever to win back-to-back NCAA Tournament games, and O’Leary became just the third coach in NCAA history to appear in the Final Four as a player (Temple), an assistant (Maryland) and a head coach. The National Coach of the Year led UF to finish in the top 5 nationally in almost every statistical category, including leading the NCAA in scoring defense. O’Leary’s 2012 squad picked up a total of 14 All-America honors, two National Goalie of the Year honors, and featured both a Tewaaraton Award finalist and a Honda Sports Award finalist.

nation, with the group combining to contribute more than 50-percent of the team’s goals and points and rank 27th nationally in scoring offense.

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines