follow us on...

Dukes Triple H goes 2-1 in pool play at US Lacrosse U15 National Championships; FCA earns top playoff seed

Friday, 27th July 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, Summer tournaments, Youth, Posted 7/27/12
Staff Report

The Dukes Triple H team went 2-1 and earned the No. 12 seed after pool play today in the US Lacrosse U15 Boys’ National Championships at Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Triple H will play NorCal (Calif.) Platinum Saturday morning (9:30) in the first round of the playoffs.

On Friday, Triple H earned two wins over teams from Florida, Palm Beach Storm, 11-3 and Orlando (Fla,). Unfortunately, Triple H also took on mighty FCA (Fellowship of Christian Athletes), a team that features 10 players from Philly, several that play on the Duke’s Lacrosse Club as well.

In that game, FCA (3-0) claimed an 11-4 victory as Timmy Kelly, a Calvert Hall rising sophomore that has committed to North Carolina, poured in five goals. FCA is the No. 1 seed for the playoffs and has a first-round bye.

For Dukes Triple H, Mike Sowers (Upper Dublin) had four goals and three assists in the win over Palm Beach and Forry Smith (Haverford School) had three goals and four assists. Also, Adam Goldner (Parkland) scored twice, Scott Lipkin (Princeton Day School) had a goal and an assist, Matt Moore scored once, Matt Dellacroce (Spring-Ford) had two assists and Craig Coleman (La Salle) and Brett Baskin each had an assist.

In the win over Orlando, Smith had three goals while Coleman, Jake Saenz (Hill School) and Chris Rivera (Manheim Township) each scored twice. Luke Desporito, Baskin and Coleman each scored once and Moore and Andrew Fine (Haverford School) each had assists.

Dukes goalies are Ian walsh (Shipley) and Jason Yoquinto (Bishop Shanahan).

In the loss to FCA, Sowers had a goal and an assist while Goldner, Saenz and Patrick Lyons (salesianum School) each scored once. Smith had an assist.

The Triple H coaches are Eric Gregg, Billy McKinney and Ebe Helm.

US Lacrosse U15 Boys’ National Championships at Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Seeds for Playoff Bracket – Top 6 receive byes
1. FCA (3-0)
2. Long Island Express (3-0)
3. Blue Devil Elite (3-0)
4. DH Lax Elite (3-0)
5. NESLL (3-0)
6. Long Island Jesters (2-0-1)
7. Colorado (2-0-1)
8. No Limit Ballers (2-0-1)
9. Looney’s (2-1)
10. For the Love of the Game (2-1)
11. Norcal Talon (2-1)
12. Dukes HHH (2-1)
13. Florida (2-1)
14. Illinois United/Team One (1-1-1)
15. Florida Swashbucklers (1-2)
16. Utah (1-2)
17. 3d Select (1-2)
18. Bamalax (1-2)
19. Long Island Outlaws (0-2-1)
20. Atlanta Coyotes (0-2-1)
21. Norcal Platinum (0-3)
22. Orlando (0-3)
23. Minnesota (0-3)
24. Norcal Blue (0-3)
25. Palm Beach Storm (0-3)
26. Jacksonville (0-3)

Saturday’s First-round playoffs
8 a.m.
No. 16 Utah vs. No. 17 3d Select
No. 9 Looney’s vs. No. 24 Norcal Blue
No. 8 No Limit Ballers vs. No. 25 Palm Beach Storm
No. 15 Florida Swashbucklers vs. No. 18 Bamalax
No. 10 For the Love of the Game vs. No. 23 Minnesota
No. 7 Colorado vs. No. 26 Jacksonville

9:30 a.m.
No. 13 Florida vs. No. 20 Atlanta Coyotes
No. 12 Dukes HHH vs. No. 21 Norcal Platinum
No. 14 Illinois United/Team One vs. No. 19 Long Island Outlaws
No. 11 Norcal Talon vs. No. 22 Orlando


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines