follow us on...

Duke’s Lacrosse club savors sixth Champ Camp title in seven years, and another Philly victory

Friday, 27th July 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club, Posted 7/27/12

The Duke’s Lacrosse Club captured its sixth Champ Camp title in seven years Saturday by edging Baltimore power GotSkillz, 8-7, in overtime at Homewood Field at Johns Hopkins University.

Duke’s L.C. Champ Camp winners, 2012

The Dukes won it when Matt Rambo (La Salle) fed Sean Coleman (La Salle) for the deciding goal 37 seconds into overtime. The possession came after a face-off win by rising sophomore Charles Kelly (Malvern Prep), who excelled all week as the Dukes went 9-0.

Dukes coach Ebe Helm – whose team has reached Champ Camp finals nine straight years and the Final Four 11 straight tourneys – said the championship established the team as one of the top classes in many years.

“We challenged this class of 2013 to identify the legacy we wanted to leave for the Dukes program,” Helm said. “The field was very challenging.”

The Dukes went 9-0 and had a key 6-5 win over defending champion Tri-State (White) in the quarterfinals before blitzing Team 24 (N.Y.), 13-2, in the semifinals.

In the title game, eight different players scored for the Dukes: Rambo, Chris Hilburn (Malvern Prep), Nick Valentino (Hempfield), Trevor Kupecky (Upper Merion), Grayson Helm (Wyomissing), Mike Sutton (St. Augustine Prep) and Reilly Hupfeldt (Haverford School).

Matt Barrett (Malvern Prep) was the winning goalie and Kelly more than held his own against top upperclassmen.

Duke’s Captains at Champ Camp: L to R: Coach Ebe Helm; Tanner Peck; Mike Sutton; Grayson Helm; Jimmy Murphy; Tyler Butler; Charles Kelly; Austin Pifani; Matt Barrett; Matt Rambo; Sean Coleman; Trevor Kupecky.

The Dukes had seized a 6-2 lead in the second half with the help of five straight goals. But Villanova recruit Devin McNamara (Loyola Blakefield) scored twice for GotSkillz and after Hilburn gave the Dukes a 7-6 lead Princeton recruit Sam Bonafede (Chaminade) tied it with 2 minutes left in regulation.

In the win over Tri-State, Rambo had two goals and two assists, Hupfeldt and Sutton scored twice and Jeff Cimbalista (La Salle) had three assists.

The Dukes also routed Fog City, 15-2 in the playoffs. That team was loaded with D1 recruits from California. Earlier in pool play, the Dukes handled SweetLax, 5-1, in a game called at the half due to lightning. SweetLax had many D1 players from New England.

Helm said that Rambo was a dominant force the entire tourney and got great help on offense from Sutton, Coleman, Hupfeldt, Kupecky, and Hilburn as well as middies Jimmy Murphy (Hatboro-Horsham), Tyler Chambers (Episcopal Academy) and Joey Carlini (Malvern Prep).

The defense was led by Austin Pifani (Abington), Stefan Bergman (La Salle), and LSM-SSMs Tim Langerhans (Conestoga) and Tyler Butler (Central Bucks East). Barrett was a standout in goal along with Alex Ready (Manheim Township).

Rambo’s performance capped an amazing summer for the Maryland-bound attackman. He also excelled for the Philly All-Stars in the overtime win over Team USA (game-winning goal) in June and led Team Philly to the Under Armour Underclassmen title (tourney MVP) and La Salle to the Brine Shootout Session 2 crown.

“I think he had a phenomenal summer and is at the forefront,” helm said. “I have not seen a player anywhere that is better. He gets double- and triple-teamed and can make the step-away pass and had a lethal shot.

“Rambo is the full package. It’s really impressive to he and Sutton go after a groundball. It’s like a meal to them; they go after them like no other. They also ride hard.”

Dukes 1 roster
1 Matthew Barrett G Malvern Prep 11
2 Stefan Bergman D La Salle College High School 12
3 Peter Blynn M The Haverford School 10
4 Tyler Butler D Central Bucks East 10
5 Joe Carlini M Malvern Prep 11
6 Tyler Chambers M Episcopal Academy 11
7 Jeffrey Cimbalista M La Salle College High School 11
8 Sean Coleman M La Salle College High School 11
9 Freddy Freibott D Salesianum School 10
10 Charles Giunta LSM William Penn Charter 11
11 Ian Hare D Spring-Ford High School 11
12 Grayson Helm M Wyomissing Area 12
13 Chris Hilburn M Malvern Prep 11
14 Reilly Hupfeldt A The Haverford School 11
15 Charles Kelly III M Malvern Prep 9
16 Trevor Kupecky A Upper Merion 11
17 Timothy Langerhans LSM Conestoga 11
18 Paul Major A Spring-Ford 11
19 Jimmy Murphy M Hatboro-Horsham 11
20 Kevin Murphy M William Penn Charter School 11
21 Tanner Peck A Avon Grove High School 10
22 Austin Pifani D Abington High School 11
23 Matthew Rambo A La Salle 11
24 Alex Ready G Manheim Township 10
25 Kevin Rogers LSM Malvern Prep 11
26 Zack Schleicher M Emmaus HS 11
27 Matthew Senft A Hempfield High School 11
28 Graham Seuffert M Salesianum School 11
29 Michael Sutton M St Augustine Prep 11
30 George Uhrich LSM La Salle College High School 11
31 Nick Valentino M Hempfield High School 11


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines