follow us on...

Dukes’ L.C. claims title in Senior AA division at Tri-State National Festival

Thursday, 12th July 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club, Posted 7/12/12

The Duke’s Lacrosse Club defeated Tri-State Black, 4-2, Sunday to claim the Tri-State National Lacrosse Festival Senior AA championship.

The Duke’s L.C. won the Senior AA title at the Tri-State National Lacrosse Festival

The Dukes, playing in their first tourney of the summer, reached the finals for the 4th consecutive year after blanking Team Carolina Red, 8-0, in the semifinals. Behind great faceoff work by Charles Kelly (Malvern Prep), the Dukes were able to control most possessions all tournament long.

Kelly’s win percentage was in the 80% for the tourney. His wingmen did a strong job, as Charles Giunta (Penn Charter), George Uhrich (La Salle), and Freddy Freibott (Salesianum) cleaned up any messes or turned back any break opportunities. TIm Langerhans (Conestoga) handled short stick and Longstick duties.

tWO-WAY middies Jimmy Murphy (Hatboro Horsham), Joey Carlini (Malvern Prep), Kevin Murphy (Penn Charter), and Tyler Chambers (Episcopal Academy) cruised between the restraining lines to spark play in transition.

Tris-State Black jumped out early in championship game to a 2-0 lead before Matt Rambo (La Salle, three goals, one assist) led the attack with a brilliant effort. Jeff Cimbalista (La Salle) scoref the go ahead goal with a step down rip from 12 yards off a Rambo feed.

Defensively, Dukes 1 was sharp in the cage with Matt Barrett (Malvern Prep), and Robbie Zonino (Conestoga), who made many point blank saves. Longstick Austin Pifani (Abington) quarterbacked the defense and often times was the catalyst for offensive production. Carson Scott (Conestoga), Tyler Butler (Central Bucks East), Ian Hare (Spring-Ford), Kevin Rogers (Malvern Prep), and Stefan Bergman (La Salle) patrolled the defensive end with tenacity and confidence.

Offensively, Mike Sutton (St. Augustine) was the right handed sniper for Dukes LC. Brandyn O’Connell (Downingtown East), Paul Major (Spring-Ford), Trevor Kupecky (Upper Merion), Tanner Peck (Avon Grove), and Matt Senft (Hempfield) contributed timely offense as well.

Sean Coleman (La Salle) had his trademark dodging abilities on display and showed his talents with both hands on the run. Chris Hilburn (Malvern Prep), Nick Valentino (Hempfield), Ian Strain (EA), Zack Schleicher (Emmaus) and Peter Blynn (Haverford School) stepped up by being threats offensively and showing why they are all top midfielders in our area.

Now having won its third straight title, the main goal for players and coaches is to regain the Champ Camp trophy on July 21st. This was a positive step.

Click here for link to video of game by Access Lacrosse.

Overall MVP Charles Kelly (Malvern Prep)

Offensive CO-MVP’s Matt Rambo (La Salle) and Mike Sutton (St. Augustine Prep)

Defensive CO-MVP’s Matt Barrett (Malvern Prep), Robbie Zonino (Conestoga), Austin Pifani (Abington), Carson Scott (Conestoga)


8-0 win vs Tristate Gold
8-4 win vs LI Express 2013
6-3 loss vs Ward Melville Elite
Canada Edge Prep & Madlax (Va) cancelled due to storms

Sunday playoffs
9-1 win vs Resolute Black (OH) Upper Arlington area
6-2 win vs Smithtown West Elite
4-2 win vs Ward Melville Elite
8-0 win vs Team Carolina Red
4-2 win vs Tristate Black


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines