follow us on...

Champ Camp follow-up: Duke’s Lacrosse Club 2 posts an impressive 6-1 record in tourney

Monday, 23rd July 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club, Posted 7/23/12

The Duke’s Lacrosse Club Team 2 finished with a 6-1 record at Champ Camp last weekend in the Baltimore area, faring well against a field that featured many teams stocked with top rising seniors.

Dukes 2 won its Group C bracket (3-0) and lost only to New England power SweetLax (MA, NY, CT) in a difficult first-round playoff game.

With a mix of rising sophomores, juniors and seniors, Dukes 2 responded well to adversity and drew plenty of college coaches to games as most of team is uncommitted.

Offensive middies Chris Daly (Lower Merion), Tyler Haab (Episcopal Academy), Matt Heim (Central Bucks East), Nick Bambino (Penn Charter), Curtis Zappala (Episcopal Academy), Sean Tornetta (Perkiomen Valley), and Chase Young (St. Joseph’s Prep) did a solid job of stretching defenses and finding open teammates.

Two-way middies Drew Schantz (Malvern Prep), Rob Kuhn (Moorestown, NJ), Nick Wojdak (Episcopal Academy), and Jace Liszka (St. Joe’s Prep) provided strong groundball play and created transition opportunities on both ends of the field.

Attackmen Owen Evans (Henderson), Tyler Fuhrman (Boyertown), Jeffery Odiorne (Haverford School), and Drew Murray (Penn Charter) controlled the pace of the game and put home finishing opportunities.

Defensively, Sean Dougherty (Hill School), Will Kroppe (Wyomissing), Andrew Benedict (St. Joe’s Prep) and Hayes Nolte (Germantown Academy) protected the defensive end with smart team defense and timely slides. At the LSM position Joe Earley (Council Rock North), Keith Cameron (Hatboro-Horsham), and Liam O’Donnell (Penncrest) created turnovers and flustered teams in their clearing attempts and between the lines all tourney.

Dukes awards
Overall MVP honors
Matt Ernst (Episcopal Academy) 69% faceoff percentage
Eric Giannetti (Bishop Shanahan) 2way mid (6g, 3a)

Offensive MVP honors
Tyler Keen (Downingtown West) 9g, 3a
Scott McAvoy (Wyomissing) 10g, 2a
Nick Waligurski (Berks Catholic) 8g

Defensive MVP honors
Jon Weinstein (Bishop Shanahan)
Brian Zappala (Episcopal Academy)
Will Schreiner (Avon Grove)

Dukes 2 Champ Camp results

Dukes 2 vs Team Twist Silver (16-2 win)
Dukes 2 vs Gilman (13-4 win)
Dukes 2 vs Tristate Navy (11-3 win)
Dukes 2 vs Sweetlax (MA, NY, CT) (12-7 loss) 1st round playoffs
Dukes 2 vs Ridgewood 1 (7-6 win)
Dukes 2 vs Team Turnpike Elite 2013 (7-2 win)
Dukes 2 vs Team Turnpike Elite 2014 (9-3 win)


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines