follow us on...

Boys’ lacrosse: Shipley School claims fourth straight Friends Schools League championship with OT win over ANC

Saturday, 19th May 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, High School  

By James Boyle, Posted 5/19/12

Shipley won its fourth straight Friends Schools League championship

Mac Gallagher scored in overtime to lift host Shipley School to a 5-4 victory over Academy of the New Church Friday for its fourth straight Friends Schools League boys’ lacrosse championship.

The Gators 916-6) have defeated the Lions all four years in the finals and remained undefeated in league games during that period. Gallagher had three goals and one assist to improve his team-leading total to 55 goals.

“It was nifty,” said Gallagher. “Today’s game was the niftiest game we’ve played all year. It was unreal. It was fantastic.”

The Gators got off to a strong start with a goal from Andrew Wafford less than a minute into the game. Cory Rayfield added another goal to put Shipley up 2-0 before the end of the first quarter.

All of the Lions’ offense came during the second quarter. Colton Doering led ANC with two goals and one assist. Luke Frazier and Christian Blair each scored once and Frazier had an assist. Jesse Frazier and Jay Eiben also had assists.

“It’s very disappointing coming so close and not finishing the deal, but I couldn’t be more proud of how close we came,” said ANC head coach Brian Bowyer. “The guys fought hard, and it was a good effort for four quarters.”

The second half was a defensive struggle that resulted in just one goal from Gallagher in the third quarter. Both teams had opportunities to get a game-winner in the final minutes, including a shot by Rayfield that went wide off the post.

Both goalies had impressive games, but Shipley goalie Ian McGibbon came out on top with 13 saves. ANC goalie Colin Rogers made ten saves.

“This is a huge win for me,” said McGibbon. “This is the last lacrosse game I’m ever going to play… it was just awesome to win four league championships in a row.”

Shipley 5, Academy of the New Church 4

Mac Gallagher 3 goals 1 assist
Cory Rayfield 1 goal
Andrew Wofford 1 goal
Mattock Callahan 1 assist
Ian McGibbon 13 saves

Colton Doering 2 goals 1 assist
Luke Frazier 1 goal 1 assist
Christian Blair 1 goal
Jesse Frazier 1 assist
Jay Eiben 1 assist
Colin Rogers 10 saves

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines