follow us on...

Boys’ lacrosse: Haverford School topples Episcopal Academy, finishes undefeated again in Inter-Ac League

Tuesday, 8th May 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, High School  

By Chris Mueller, Posted 5/8/12

Henry Blynn had three goals and two assists while Will McNamara had two goals and an assist as host Haverford School defeated Episcopal Academy, 9-6, today, to complete its Inter-Ac League season at a perfect 8-0.

The Fords, ranked No. 1 in the PA Media Lacrosse Rankings, improved to 18-1 and have gone undefeated in the league two straight years while winning 18 consecutive league games. They have won four straight league titles. Episcopal Academy finished in a second-place tie in the Inter-Ac at 4-4 and is 15-5 overall.

Haverford led, 2-1 after one period and 6-3 at halftime. Zach Rego and Timmy Brooks each added a goal and an assist and Reilly Hupfeldt and Gavin McBride each scored once for the Fords while Jake Landman made nine saves.

Despite having clinched the league crown before the game, a sense of urgency was imminent in the Fords’ play. “It was great to finish out like this,” said Rego “We didn’t feel like we wrapped up the league title until we went undefeated.”

Rego also alluded to his team’s solid ball control on the wet surface, “Our offense seemed to work well together today. We really moved the ball well even though it was raining.” said Rego.

Haverford School coach John Nonstrant was pleased to wrap up the league schedule on a roll.

“It’s is an awful tough league to play in,” he said. “But this is our third or fourth undefeated league record in the 21 years I’ve been here, so it’s a huge accomplishment.”

Trupert Ortlieb had three goals to lead the Churchmen, while Tyler Odell scored twice. Ian Strain added one goal and one assist and Henry Coote made 14 saves, while Jon Garino won 14 of 19 face-offs.

EA Coach Andy Hayes was proud of the way his team battled.

“We came out sluggish today and didn’t pick up ground balls, but the guys came and fought back in the second half.” said Hayes. “They are a great team and you can’t give them too many opportunities.”

Both teams look ahead to the Inter-Ac Invitational. Haverford School has won the tourney all three years and will surely be seeded No. 1; EA also will have a high seed.

Haverford School 9, Episcopal Academy 6

Haverford School 2-4-1-2- -9
Episcopal Academy 1-2-2-1 – 6

Haverford School:
Gavin McBride 1g
Reilly Hupfeldt 1g
Henry Blynn 3g, 1a
Will McNamara 2g, 1a
Sam Rohr 1a
Zach Rego 1g, 1a
Timmy Brooks 1g, 1a
goalies: Jake Landman 9 saves

Episcopal Academy
Tyler Odell 2g
Sam Lawlor 1a
Ian Strain 1g 1 a
Trupert Ortlieb 3g
Garrett Walling 1a
Henry Coote 14 saves
Jon Garino 14-19 FO

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines