follow us on...

Boys’ club lacrosse: La Salle savors first Brine Shootout championship

Thursday, 19th July 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club, Posted 7/19/12

Matt Rambo and Sean Coleman led the attack as La Salle toppled Georgetown Prep, 8-3, Wednesday to claim the Session II championship at the Brine Shootout at UMBC.

La Salle won the team title at the Brine Shootout Wednesday

La Salle became the first Philly team to win the crown since Competitive Edge won eight years ago. It was La Sale’s first title ever at Brine, considered one of the top team tourneys of the summer.

To reach the finals, La Salle downed Gilman, 6-5, and Loyola Blakefield, 8-3, in the playoffs.

The La Salle defense was led by Conor Resch, Andrew Eidenshink, Stefan Bergman, George Uhrich and Andrew Grajewski as well as goalie Nick Hreshko. Defensive middies Brendan McGonigle and Mike Pascali also stood out while middies Jeff Cimbalista, Mike Rihm, Brian McNamara, Steve Hudak and Trent Melsheimer were major contributors.

Rob Forster was the head coach while Niko Amato and Pete Schwartz were assistants.

“I was overly impressed with the effort of our team all week and the amount of hustle and energy we played with,” said Forster, whose team also had big wins in pool play over the LI Sting, the Clams, DeMatha and Gilman. “The kids wanted to be there and play as a team and it showed bigtime.

“I was also impressed with the way we played team defense. Communication and effort was there all week and that’s not always the case in summer tournaments. Our goalie play was excellent as well. This will definitely pay off for us and build confidence for this group come spring time!”



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines