follow us on...

US men’s, women’s team will compete at 2011 US Lacrosse Stars & Stripes weekend

Friday, 9th September 2011

Categories Boy's/Men's, Events, Features, Girl's/Women's, Tournaments, Posted 9/9/11
From Press Releases

The 2011 US Lacrosse Stars & Stripes weekend, featuring contests between the U.S. men’s and women’s national senior teams and top division I collegiate competition, moves to Durham, N.C. at Duke University, October 8-9. All weekend events are scheduled to take place on the fields next to Koskinen Stadium.

The 38-member 2011-2012 U.S. women’s senior team, led by head coach Ricky Fried, suits up Saturday, Oct. 8 to take on University of North Carolina (UNC) in games at 5 and 7 p.m. The following day, the U.S. women take the field at 9 a.m. to play the United States Naval Academy (Navy) for the first game of the day and then again at 1:30 p.m. The 2011-2012 U.S. men’s senior team plays Duke University, Sunday, Oct. 9, at 11 a.m. in between the two women’s games.

Representing the U.S. women’s national team are seven current or former Tar Heels, including: Kara Cannizzaro `13, Kristen Carr `10, Corey Donohoe `11, Amber Falcone `09, Erica LaGrow `08, Jenn Russell `10 and Laura Zimmerman `12. The current college players will suit up for Team USA and play against their college teammates. In addition to the seven Tar Heels, Team USA is represented by 16 other schools with Northwestern claiming the second highest total of six players.

The U.S. men’s national team will be coached by Kevin Cassese, a Duke graduate who is now the head coach at Lehigh, and Shawn Nadelen, the new head coach at Towson, both of whom were members of the U.S. men’s national team that won the 2010 Federation of International lacrosse (FIL) World Championship. This team features members of the 2010 FIL Championship team, members of the 2009 training team, and a number of players who have starred at the professional level, including two former Blue Devils – 2010 Tewaaraton Award Winner Ned Crotty and 2008 Tewaaraton Award Winner Matt Danowski, son of Duke Head Coach John Danowski.

Both national teams boast players from the most recent world championship squads.

Returners from the 2009 women’s team: Pottstown High alum Regina Oliver (Ohio State ’05), Holly McGarvie (Princeton ’09), Sarah Albright (Northwestern ’06), Sarah Bullard (Duke ’09), Amber Falcone (UNC ’09), Megan Huether (Duke ’06), Erica LaGrow (UNC ’08), Caitlyn McFadden (Maryland ’10), Lindsey Munday (Northwestern ’06), Katie Rowan (Syracuse ’09), Acacia Walker (Maryland ’05) and Devon Wills (Dartmouth ’06).

Returners from the 2010 men’s team: Joe Cinosky (Maryland ’08), Ned Crotty (Duke ’10), Stephen Peyser (Johns Hopkins ’08), Paul Rabil (Johns Hopkins ’08), Chris Schiller (Penn State ’99), Max Seibald (Cornell ’09), Matt Striebel (Princeton ’01) and Drew Westervelt (UMBC ’07).

In addition to playing, both U.S. men’s and women’s teams will host National Team Player Clinics for kids in grades 3-12 from 1-3 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 8. The cost for each clinic is $50 if pre-registered and includes a t-shirt, poster and other opportunities to win official Team USA gear. Walk-up registration, pending availability, is $60.

For more information about the event or to sign up for a clinic, please visit this link.

Marriott and Nationwide are the official sponsors of the National Teams Program. Warrior is the official equipment and apparel sponsor of the U.S. men’s national teams. Champion is the official apparel sponsor and deBeer is the official equipment sponsor of the U.S. women’s national teams.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines