follow us on...

Tewaaraton Trophy nominees: Karalunas (Villanova), Brennan (Penn), Duke’s Hamm (Baldwin School)

Tuesday, 19th April 2011

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 4/19/11

Villanova senior long stick midfielder Brian Karalunas, Penn junior attack Erin Brennan and Duke junior midfielder Emma Hamm (Baldwin School) have made the list of the 2011 Tewaaraton Award nominees.

Awarded to the top male and female collegiate lacrosse player, the Tewaaraton award is the nation’s pre-eminent collegiate lacrosse accolade.

A watch list which began with over 100 names has been whittled down to 25 males and 24 females. This year’s nominees represent 23 different schools and some of the country’s top lacrosse programs. Five male and five female finalists will be selected from the nominees. Finalists will be invited to the award ceremony in June where a male and a female winner will be honored.

The 11th annual Tewaaraton Award will be presented on June 2, 2011 at the historic Warner Theatre in Washington, D.C. Event details and ticket information can be found at

Men’s 2011 Tewaaraton Nominees

Peter Baum, Colgate – Sophomore (Midfield), Portland, Ore.
Billy Bitter, North Carolina – Senior (Attack), Manhasset, N.Y.
Jeremy Boltus, Army – Senior (Attack), Baldwinsville, N.Y.
Zach Brenneman, Notre Dame – Senior (Midfield), East Hampton, N.Y.
Jay Card, Hofstra – Senior (Attack), Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Grant Catalino, Maryland – Senior (Attack), Webster, N.Y.
C.J. Costabile, Duke – Junior (Midfield), New Fairfield, Conn.
Kevin Crowley, Stony Brook – Senior (Midfield), New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada
David Earl, Notre Dame – Senior (Midfield), Simsbury, Conn.
Brian Farrell, Maryland – Senior (Midfield), Baltimore, Md.
John Galloway, Syracuse – Senior (Goalkeeper), Syracuse, N.Y.
D.J. Hessler, Tufts – Senior (Attack), Monkton, Md.
Zach Howell, Duke – Senior (Attack), Huntington, N.Y.
Shayne Jackson, Limestone – Junior (Attack), Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Brian Karalunas, Villanova – Senior (Defense), Dewitt, N.Y.
Stephen Keogh, Syracuse – Senior (Attack), Toronto, Ontario, Canada
John Lade, Syracuse – Senior (Defense), Randolph, N.J.
Rob Pannell, Cornell – Junior (Attack), Smithtown, N.Y.
John Ranagan, Johns Hopkins – Sophomore (Midfield), Yorktown, N.Y.
Adam Rand, Stony Brook – Senior (Midfield), Niantic, Conn.
Kevin Ridgway, Notre Dame – Senior (Defense), Kensington, Md.
Steele Stanwick, Virginia – Junior (Attack), Baltimore, Md.
Garret Thul, Army – Sophomore (Attack), Flemington, N.J.
Joel White, Syracuse – Senior (Midfield), Cortland, N.Y.
Ryan Young, Maryland – Senior (Attack), Manhasset, N.Y.

Women’s 2011 Tewaaraton Nominees

Casey Ancarrow, James Madison – Sophomore (Attack), Jarrettsville, Md.
Erin Brennan, Pennsylvania – Junior (Attack), Garden City, N.Y.
Ally Carey, Vanderbilt – Junior (Midfield), Bel Air, Md.
Kitty Cullen, Florida – Sophomore (Midfield), Rockville, Md.
Brittany Dipper, Maryland – Junior (Goalkeeper), Clarksboro, N.J.
Corey Donohoe, North Carolina – Senior (Attack), Jarrettsville, Md.
Liz Downs, Virginia – Senior (Defense), Alexandria, Va.
Leslie Foard, Stanford – Senior (Midfield), Cincinnati, Ohio
Taylor Frink, Albany – Senior (Attack), Baldwinsville, N.Y.
Grace Gavin, Loyola, Maryland – Senior (Attack), Baltimore, Md.
Grace Golden, William & Mary – Senior (Midfield), Manhasset, N.Y.
Emma Hamm, Duke – Junior (Midfield), Wayne, Pa.
Mia Hurrin, North Carolina – Senior (Defense), Alexandria, Va.
Karri Ellen Johnson, Maryland – Junior (Attack), Annapolis, Md.
Sarah Jonson, William & Mary – Senior (Defense), Dallas, Texas
Christie Kaestner, Duke – Senior (Attack), Trappe, Md.
Sarah Mollison, Maryland – Senior (Attack), Melbourne, Australia
Lauren Schmidt, Stanford – Senior (Midfield), Bay Shore, N.Y.
Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland – Sophomore (Midfield), Sykesville, Md.
Shannon Smith, Northwestern – Junior (Midfield), West Babylon, N.Y.
Kerry Stoothoff, Loyola, Maryland – Junior (Goalkeeper), Blue Point, N.Y.
Kat Thomas, Duke – Junior (Midfield), Latham, N.Y.
Taylor Thornton, Northwestern – Sophomore (Defense), Dallas, Texas
Laura Zimmerman, North Carolina – Junior (Midfield), Syracuse, N.Y.

Tags: , ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines