follow us on...

Klidonas (Emmaus) receives Rookie of Year award for Hartford men’s team at American East tourney championship banquet

Wednesday, 26th October 2011

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 10/26/11
From Press Releases

The University of Hartford men’s lacrosse team held its annual banquet on Saturday evening at the Hilton Hotel located in downtown Hartford and feted a championship while also honoring freshman Tate Klidonas (Emmaus).

The 2012 edition of the Hawks’ men’s lacrosse team as well as its coaching staff were joined by several alumni, parents, family, administrators, boosters and supporters of the program in celebrating last season’s success both on and off the field.

Several individual awards were handed out during Saturday’s banquet, which also served as the team’s ring ceremony. Following the awards portion of the evening, each member of the 2011 team (11-7) received its America East Tournament championship ring. Hartford, coached by Peter Lawrence (Trashcan Lacrosse owner and yearly attendee of Philly Showcase), upset Stony Brook, 11-10, to win the league crown and earn a trip to the NCAAs.

A total of 10 awards were handed out to student-athletes, parents and alumni on Saturday:

Rookie of the Year Award – Tate Klidonas (Emmaus)

The Rookie of the Year honor, which is voted on by the individual’s coaches and teammates, is awarded to the top freshman performer. After seeing himself in a variety of roles on the field, including playing on the Hawks’ first midfield, man-up unit or taking face-offs, Klidonas, who was named to the conference’s all-rookie team, had 11 goals, 5 assists and 29 groundballs (fourth on team).

Most Improved Award – Connor Yatauro

The Most Improved Award is voted on by the team and reflects the dedication, work ethic and attitude of the recipient. A freshman last year, Connor Yatauro improved immensely over the course of the year and earned a spot on the team’s second midfield by the end of the season.

The “Jack McGetrick” Award – Brendan Marlow

The Jack McGetrick Award is dedicated in honor of the late Hartford coach, who was a tough individual and fierce competitor. The annual award is given to a student-athlete that exemplifies perseverance, dedication, sacrifice and an unyielding performance. Brendan Marlow, a senior last year who earned America East All-Conference Second Team honors, was the recipient of the Jack McGetrick Award.

Unsung Hero Award – Frank Piechota

The Unsung Hero Award is given to a player whose contribution has not gone unrecognized by his teammates or coaches. Frank Piechota, a sophomore last season, received this accolade after starting 10 games between the pipes and played a major role in the team’s success in 2011.

MVP Award – Tim Fallon
The MVP Award is given annually to the player who is considered to be the most valuable to the Hawks. After scooping up a single season record 166 ground balls and winning 62-percent of his face-offs, Tim Fallon, a two-time All-American and the 2011 New England Player of the Year, was tabbed the Hawks’ MVP for the second-straight season.

Coaches Award – Conor Flynn

The Coaches Award, which is not an annual award, was given to Conor Flynn, a senior on last year’s team. A three-time all-conference selection who scooped up 215 career ground balls, Flynn grew as a leader and as a student during his four years at Hartford and was by far a favorite of the coaches and most importantly, his teammates.

Alumni Award – Andrew Fink, Class of 2001

The Alumni Award is given annually to an alumnus who has made a significant contribution to the program and has also had great success since graduating from the University of Hartford. After leading the Mt. Ida Mustangs to a 56-1 mark in conference play over 10 years as a head coach, including three NCAA Tournament appearances and seven conference championships, Andrew Fink, a member of Hartford’s class of 2001, took home the Alumni Award on Saturday.

Harris Family Parent Award – Dave Tilley

The recipient of the Harris Family Parent Award, which was named after Stan and Susan Harris, is a parent who has made significant contributions to the Hartford men’s lacrosse program. Dave Tilley, the father of assistant coach and former member of the Hawks Brian Tilley, was this year’s recipient after helping with tailgates and gear, serving on the executive committee of the Crease Club and traveling across the country to watch the Hawks play.

Arline Robbins Academic Achievement Award – Mike Brown

Named after the team’s academic advisor, Arline Robbins, this first-year award was given to Mike Brown who holds an impressive cumulative grade point average of 4.0.

Top Left Award – Martin Bowes

Former team captain and 2008 graduate Tom Harris awards the Top Left Award, which is named after his company Lowcountry Lacrosse and Top Left Lacrosse in South Carolina. Martin Bowes, a junior last season, received this year’s Top Left Award.



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines