follow us on...

USILA Division I All-Americans: UVA’s Clausen (Hill School) is first-team pick for 3d time; Hens’ Dickson makes 2nd team

Friday, 28th May 2010

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 5/28/10

Virginia senior defenseman Ken Clausen (Hill School) has been named a first-team Division I men’s All-American, as announced by the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association.

Clausen earned first-team honors for the third-straight season,

UVA All-American Ken Clausen (Hill School) defends against Duke at Final Four (Photo by Steve Layne)

becoming the first player in UVa history to be named to the first-team three times. Coupled with his USILA Scholar All-American honor, Clausen is the seventh UVa player in the last five years to earn both honors in the same season, giving Virginia the distinction more than any other program in the nation.

The Downingtown native will finish his career as a four-time All-American, including earning honorable mention honors as a freshman. Having a stellar senior season, Clausen is No. 6 nationally with 2.18 caused turnovers per game and is second on the team with 52 ground balls. He has led the Cavaliers into the Final Four this year.

Other Philly players honored were Delaware senior attackman Curtis Dickson (second team), Drexel sophomore goalie Mark Manos from Salesianum School; (third team), Maryland junior defenseman Brett Schmidt from Upper Dublin (third team) and Loyola senior defenseman Steve Layne from Malvern Prep (honorable mention).

USILA Division I All-American
First Team
Billy Bitter University of North Carolina
Edward Crotty Duke University
Robert Pannell Cornell University
Shamel Bratton University of Virginia
Kevin Crowley Stony Brook University
Michael Kimmel Johns Hopkins University
Joel White Syracuse University
Ken Clausen (Hill School) University of Virginia
Ryan Flanagan University of North Carolina
John Lade Syracuse University
John Galloway Syracuse University

Second Team
Curtis Dickson University of Delaware
Max Quinzani Duke University
Steele Stanwick University of Virginia
Rhamel Bratton University of Virginia
Brian Carroll University of Virginia
Mike Chanenchuck Princeton University
Sean Delaney University of North Carolina
Jeremy Thompson Syracuse University
Brian Farrell University of Maryland
Parker McKee Duke University
Chad Wiedmaier Princeton University
Tyler Fiorito Princeton University

Third Team
Grant Catalino University of Maryland
Christian Daniello Syracuse University
Jordan McBride Stony Brook University
Martin Cahill University of Delaware
Craig Costabile Duke University
Pierce Derkac Cornell University
Scott Kocis Georgetown University
Jovan Miller Syracuse University
Diogo Godoi University of Massachusetts
Michael Manley Duke University
Brett Schmidt (Upper Dublin) University of Maryland
Matt Tierney Syracuse University
Adam Ghitelman University of Virginia
Mark Manos (Salesianum School) Drexel University

Honorable Mention
Chris Bocklet University of Virginia
Jeremy Boltus United States Military Academy
Steven Boyle Johns Hopkins University
Jay Card Hofstra University
Tom Compitello Stony Brook University
Alex Demopoulos University of Denver
Dean Gibbons Harvard University
Matt Gibson Yale University
Cody Jamieson Syracuse University
Stephen Keogh Syracuse University
Jamie Lincoln Hofstra University
Cooper MacDonnell Loyola University
Jack McBride Princeton University
Trevor Moore Robert Morris University
Thomas Muldoon Brown University
Austin Winter Bucknell University

Josh Amidon Syracuse University
Andrew Brancaccio Georgetown University
Zach Brenneman University of Notre Dame
Jim Dunster University of North Carolina
David Earl University of Notre Dame
Tim Fallon University of Hartford
Brian Karalunas Villanova University
Grant Krebs University of Notre Dame
Patrick Moran United States Naval Academy
Tim Moran Virginia Military Institute
Christian Pastirik Towson University
Justin Pennington Rutgers University
John Schiavone Loyola University
Logan Schuss The Ohio State University
Steve Serling Lafayette College
Steven Waldeck Stony Brook University
Paul Webber Villanova University
Kyle Wimer University of Maryland Baltimore County

Max Feely Cornell University
William Henderson United States Military Academy
Casey Hingtgen Dartmouth College
Steve Layne (Malvern Prep) Loyola University
Charlie McComas University of North Carolina
Matt Murnane Bryant University
Chris Nixon Georgetown University
Ryan Nizolek University of Virginia
Kevin Ridgeway University of Notre Dame
Dillon Roy University of Denver
Maxwell Schmidt University of Maryland

T. C. DiBartolo Mount St Mary’s University
Brent Herbst Siena College
Tom Palesky United States Military Academy
Brian Phipps University of Maryland
Scott Rodgers University of Notre Dame
R.J. Wickham United States Naval Academy

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines