follow us on...

Twenty Philly women are coaching Division I lacrosse; five are in Ivy League

Monday, 22nd March 2010

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 3/22/10

There are 20 women that graduated from Philadelphia high schools coaching Division I lacrosse this year.

The list is headed by Navy’s Cindy Timchal (Haverford High), who won eight National titles at Maryland and is the winningest coach of all time (371-97).

Princeton’s Chris Sailer (Haverford High) has won three National titles and was selected to the US Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2008.

Old Dominion’s Sue Stahl (Lansdowne Aldan) is a member of the US Lacrosse Hall of Fame and the former National team head coach. She formerly was an assistant at Temple when it won two National titles and was named Women’s Lacrosse Coach of the Century.

The list also features two current coaches within the National team system. Boston University’s Liz Robertshaw (Strath Haven) and Stanford’s Amy Bokker (Phoenixville) are both assistants with the US Elite team.

Delaware’s Kim Ciarrocca is retiring after the season following a brilliant 21-year career, including 12 at Temple. Her first job was at Ursinus College, a team she took to the Division III national title in 1990.

Temple’s Bonnie Rosen (Harriton) was inducted into the Eastern Pennsylvania Chapter of the US Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2009 and is finalist for induction this year in the National Hall. Rosen started the program at Connecticut before coming back to Temple.

Yale’s Anne Phillips (Henderson) built Owen J. Roberts into a power and then took Franklin & Marshall to the Division III national crown in 2007.

Virginia’s Julie Myers (Harriton) has the rare distinction of being a player, an assistant coach and a head coach for Cavaliers teams that won the NCAA crown.

Also, five of the Ivy League’s eight teams are coached by Philly women: Sailer (Princeton), Phillips (Yale), Jenny Graap (Cornell/West Chester East), Amy Patton (Dartmouth/Unionville) and Kerri Whitaker (Columbia/Ridley).

Philly graduates coaching Division I lacrosse
Amy Bokker (Phoenixville, Stanford)
Laura Brand-Sias (Radnor, Rutgers)
Kim Ciarrocca (Plymouth Whitemarsh, Delaware)
Alison Fisher (Hatboro-Horsham, Lafayette)
Jenny Graap (West Chester East, Cornell)
Kerstin Kimel (Haverford High, Duke)
Abby Morgan (Great Valley, Hofstra)
Julie Myers (Harriton, Virginia)
Mandy O’Leary (Spring-Ford, Florida)
Amy Patton (Unionville, Dartmouth)
Anne Phiillips (Henderson, Yale)
Liz Robertshaw (Strath Haven, Boston University)
Bonnie Rosen (Harriton, Temple)
Chris Sailer (Haverford High, Princeton)
Katrina Silva (Strath Haven, Virginia Tech)
Sue Stahl (Lansdowne-Aldan, Old Dominion)
Sue Stimmel (Boyertown, Ohio State)
Candance Taglianetti (Haverford High, La Salle)
Cindy Timchal (Haverford High, Navy)
Kerri Whitaker (Ridley, Columbia)


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines