follow us on... Girls’ Team Coach of the Year: Runner-ups and Honorable Mention selections

Thursday, 5th August 2010

Categories Girl's/Women's, High School, Posted 8/5/10 wishes to salute the efforts of the coaches of the Philadelphia region. Along with Coach of the Year Phyllis Kilgour (Radnor), these girls’ team coaches are honored:

Top runner-ups

John Benci, Delaware Valley Charter – Coached both the school’s boys’ and girls’ teams at Del-Val and led girls to 4-2 league record. Also was instrumental in organization of the first year of Public League play.

Jen Duckenfield, Strath Haven – Led Panthers to share of first-ever Central League title and into PIAA tournament in first season, despite loss of the Player of the Year and four of her top five scorers. Her team is only squad to defeat Radnor in the regular season over the past three years.

Marie Schmucker, Hatboro-Horsham – Took Hatters to second place in Suburban One Continental Conference and into second round of District 1 play in first year back after recovering from breast cancer and missing two seasons. Team improved from two wins to 13 victories.

Honorable Mention

Kevin Goforth, Bishop Shanahan – His Eagles reached the District 1 playoffs and were named Most Improved Team by PASLA, the governing board for Philadelphia girls’ lacrosse.

Joe Tornetta, Great Valley – Guided Patriots to undefeated regular season and the Ches-Mont League championship, as well as semifinals in District 1 tournament.

Keith Broome, Springfield-Delco – Took team to District 1 and PIAA finals while earning a share of the Central League crown. Has won or been to finals of district tourney in 10 of last 12 years.

Chris Aquilino, Archbishop Wood – Without the benefit of a feeder program, built the Vikings into a perennial Catholic League finalist that also cracks the state’s top 10. Led Wood to league finals in each of the past six seasons; has taken over head coaching job at Abington.

Lauren Rubin, Friends’ Central – Led Phoenix to Friends’ Schools League championship, winning final five games of the season.

Pam Wernersbach, Boyertown – Led Bears to seventh straight Pioneer Athletic Conference championship. Her teams have won nearly 100 straight league games.

Julie Martinez, Abington – Guided Ghosts to share of fourth straight Suburban One National Conference crown despite a key injury.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines