follow us on...

GMH Philadelphia LC defeats DeWalt (Md.), 9-7, to claim first ALL championship

Sunday, 20th June 2010

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club, Posted 6/20/10

Goalie Brian Dougherty made 14 saves to earn the MVP award and Rob Forster scored three goals as the GMH Philadelphia Lacrosse Club won its first American Lacrosse League Championship Saturday by defeating DeWalt LC (MD), 9-7, in Baltimore.

The teams traded goals in the first period and GMH Philadelphia held a 4-3 lead at halftime. GMH dominated the third period and seized an 8-4 lead before holding off a late rally by DeWalt.

GMH Philadelphia (12-1) also got two goals each from Michael Holloway and Ryan Cranston. Dan Honeywell and David Gaunt each scored once.

Although this was GMH Philadelphia’s first ALL title, it was the second club crown for a Philadelphia Lacrosse Club. MAB Paints Philadelphia LC – which had 14 of the players on this team – won the 2006 United States Club Lacrosse Association Championship for the first Philadelphia area club title.

GMH Philadelphia is sponsored by Gary and Michael Holloway. The team is lead by head coach Jeff Murray,as well as assistant coach Drew Pressman and General Manager Chris McNichol.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines