follow us on...

Drexel’s Ambler (Abington), Virginia’s Clausen (Hill School) named to Lowe’s Senior CLASS list

Wednesday, 10th February 2010

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 2/10/10
From Press Releases and Staff Reports

Drexel’s Colin Ambler (Abington) and Virginia’s Ken Clausen (Hill School) have been named among 20 NCAA men’s lacrosse student-athletes who excel both on and off the field and were tabbed as candidates today for the 2010 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – classroom, character, community and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Ambler is a co-captain for the Dragons who has collected 64 goals in his first three seasons. He was a Wapner Newman/ Scholar-Athlete winner two years ago and last year earned ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District honors for the first time after completing an excellent season on and off the lacrosse field. The junior was a First Team All-CAA pick was a 2008 CAA Scholar Athlete of the Year recipient and a Philadelphia Inquirer Academic All-Area Performer of the Year for men’s lacrosse. A five-time member of the Dean’s List, Ambler holds a 3.6 cumulative GPA in business administration.

Clausen is a three-time All-American who recently was recognized for launching the “Mustache Madness” project to promote awareness and funding to fight prostate cancer.

Also on the Lowe’s Senor CLASS list from Pennsylvania is UMBC’s Kyle Wimer, a Hempfield High graduate.

This year’s candidate class includes 13 student-athletes on teams ranked in the Nike/Inside Lacrosse media preseason top 20 poll. In addition, nine candidates are on the preseason Inside Lacrosse Face-Off Yearbook Division I All-American list. Six candidates own cumulative grade point averages of 3.5 or better.

Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the 2010 Senior CLASS Award™ winner at the NCAA Division I Men’s Lacrosse Championship at M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore May 29-31. The 20 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of classroom, character, community and competition.

“The lacrosse candidates represent a diverse cross-section of universities and a wide array of academic courses of study,” said Tom Lamb, Lowe’s senior vice president of marketing. “But the common denominator is a passion for their sport and for finishing their careers as students and athletes at the top.”

This marks the fourth year for the men’s lacrosse division of the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. Cornell University midfielder Max Seibald received the award for the 2009 season and Syracuse University attackman Mike Leveille took home the 2008 honor. In 2007, Cornell goalkeeper Matt McMonagle (Episcopal Academy) won the inaugural men’s lacrosse award.

2010 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Candidates
Colin Ambler Attack Drexel
Gavin Buckley Goalkeeper St.
Ken Clausen Defense Virginia
Kevin Curtin Attackman Hobart
Chris Daniello Attack Syracuse
Pierce Derkac LSM Cornell
Charley Dickenson Midfield Denver
Jason Duboe Midfielder Harvard
Ridge Flick Attack Air Force
Brent Herbst Goalie Siena College
Ryan Hurley Attack Cornell
Michael Kimmel Midfield Johns Hopkins
Andrew Maisano Midfield Army
Sean McCoy Goalie VMI
Scott Monfort LSM Bucknell
Thomas Muldoon Attackman Brown
Brian Phipps Goalie Maryland
Max Quinzani Attack Duke
Scott Rodgers Goalie Notre Dame
Kyle Wimer Midfield UMBC

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines