follow us on...

Undefeated Ridley team from 2002 recognized as 11th best team fo decade by Inside Lacrosse Magazine

Friday, 17th July 2009

Categories Boy's/Men's, Features, High School, Posted 7/17/09

Ridley High’s undefeated 2002 boys’ lacrosse team has been cited as the 11th best of the decade by Inside Lacrosse magazine.

The Green Raiders finished a perfect 22-0 and defeated Malvern Prep, 8-6, to claim the Eastern Pennsylvania Scholastic Lacrosse Association championship before dispatching of Mt. Lebanon, 15-4, for the Keystone Cup championship.

The state title was the second of three straight by Ridley. No team had won two in a row since until La Salle did it this year and no team had done it since Penn Charter won three straight from 1974-76.

The Green Raiders had a tremendous group of standouts, including two-time scholastic All-Americans Brett Moyer (All-American at Hofstra) and Bill McGlone (two-time first-team All-American Maryland) and Paul Middleton (Ohio State/Cabrini).

Other key players included Matt Ryan (Notre Dame), Vinnie DeAngelo (Hofstra), Steve Hill (Drexel/Cabrini), Jim Culp (Gettysburg), Gabe Hirl (national champion at Johns Hopkins), Ryan Grugan (Cabrini), Rob Tinsley (UMBC/Cabrini), Mike Podgajny (Notre Dame), Tony Bryant (goalie who went into Army), Matt Millard (football at Kutztown), Steve Clarke (Williamson), Phil Rayer (Cabrini), Derek Detwieler (served in armed forces) and the late Nick Colleluori (Hofstra).

Ridley was coached by Doug Ellers, who won his 300th game in 2003.



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines