follow us on...

Tickets are available for National Hall of Fame Induction ceremony Nov. 7 in Hunt Valley, Md.

Monday, 14th September 2009

Categories Features, Girl's/Women's, Posted 9/14/09

Tickets are available online for the 2009 National US Lacrosse Hall of Fame Induction Celebration on Saturday, Nov. 7, at the Grand Lodge at Hunt Valley, Md.

Two Philly legends will be inducted as playing great Cherie Greer Brown (Harriton graduate) and umpire Jennifer Miller O’Donnell (Upper Perkiomen) are honored with six others.

The rest of the 2009 induction class consists of Todd Curry, Jeffrey J. Long, Kevin Lowe, Mark Millon, Patricia Price Genovese, and Jessica Wilk Strosberg.

This black tie optional gathering of the game’s “greatest” is the premier US Lacrosse event of the year. It is a celebration to honor the men and women, past and present, whose contribution to the game of lacrosse has been deemed worthy of their induction into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame.

There are two online ticket links. Please choose the appropriate option.

Current Hall of Fame members, please click here.Tickets for current HOF members are $50. You must be a member of the HOF to purchase these tickets.

All other guests, please click here. Tickets for general guests (non-HOF members) are $150.

No tickets will be sold at the door. Class of 2009 inductees receive a complimentary ticket for themselves and for one guest.

Greer Brown, a high school and college All-American at Virginia, was also the NCAA Division I Defensive Player of the Year in 1994 and led the Cavaliers to two NCAA championships (1991, 1993). Greer Brown was a 14-year club player and received the Beth Allen award at the US Lacrosse Women’s Division National Tournament (2000).

She was a member of the 1993, 1997, 2001 and 2005 U.S. Women’s World Cup teams, winning three world championships. She was named the most outstanding player of the championship game in the 1997 and 2001 World Cups.

In 2000, she was named a member of the Lacrosse Magazine All-Century Team. Greer was inducted into the US Lacrosse Philadelphia/Eastern Pennsylvania Chapter Lacrosse Hall of Fame (2005).

O’Donnell, a West Chester resident, has spent the last 15 years umpiring at the international level (1994-present).O’Donnell has been umpiring women’s lacrosse for 25 years in the Philadelphia Chapter and is recognized as one of the most respected referees in the nation.

An All-American scholastic player at Upper Perk, she graduated from West Chester University and has been rated to umpire in International games for 14 years. She has worked 18 Division I Final Four tournaments and 10 championship games.

On the international front, she officiated in the U-19 World Championship held in Perth, Australia in 1999. Two times to date Jen has officiated in the Women’s World Cup Championship held in 2001, in High Wycombe, England, and in 2005, in Annapolis, Md. She still coaches field hockey at Bayard Rustin.

O’Donnell was inducted into the US Lacrosse Eastern Pennsylvania Chapter Lacrosse Hall of Fame (2009).

The National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, sponsored by US Lacrosse, was established in 1957 to honor men and women, past and present, who by their deeds as players, coaches, officials and/or contributors, and by the example of their lives, personify the great contribution of lacrosse to our way of life. More than 325 lacrosse greats are honored in the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, which is located with the Lacrosse Museum at US Lacrosse Headquarters in Baltimore.

For more information on the 2009 National Lacrosse Hall of Fame Induction Celebration, please e-mail the Special Events Department at

Event Schedule

5 p.m. – 7 p.m. — Reception

(cocktails, heavy hors d’oeuvres, open bar)

7:15 p.m. – 9:15 p.m. — Induction Ceremony

9:15 p.m. – 11 p.m. — Dessert, coffee and after-dinner cordials (open bar)



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines