follow us on...

Philly’s Dougherty (goalie), Sweeney (LSM) & Delaware’s Smith (face-offs) named to Inside Lacrosse Team of Decade

Tuesday, 10th November 2009

Categories Boy's/Men's, Features, Posted 11/10/09  

    Philly’s Brian Dougherty and Kyle Sweeney and Delaware graduate Alex Smith have been named to the Inside Lacrosse Team of the Decade first-team squad.

    The teams were released online and appear in the December issue of the magazine. Inside lacrosse editors and writers selected the players based on their performance throughout the 10-year period, from high school to college to pro to international play. The most weight was given to the college years.

    Dougherty, a goalie, is an Episcopal Academy graduate and Penn assistant who starred at Maryland in the 1990s and won three Major League Lacrosse championships for the Long Island Lizards (2001) and Philadelphia Barrage (2006-07) in the decade. He recently was named the starting goalie on the US National team that will compete in the FIL World Championships next summer in Manchester, England.

    Sweeney is a long stick midfielder from Springfield-Delco who earned All-American honors three years at Georgetown (Class of 2003) and won three tiles with the Barrage (2004, 2006-07). Sweeney has excelled for the Philadelphia Wings of the National Lacrosse League and was an All-Star this summer for the Boston Cannons of the MLL. He also was named to the US National Team.

    Smith, a face-off specialist, starred at Boys’ Latin in Maryland (Class of 2003) and then led Delaware to the NCAA Final Four as a senior in 2007. He plays for the Washington Bayhawks of the MLLs and also was named to the US National team.

    The first team attackmen include: John Grant Jr., Ryan Boyle and Mikey Powell. The midfield includes Paul Rabil, Casey Powell and Jay Jalbert. The defense features John Gagliardi, Brodie Merrill and Nicky Polanco.

    The second team features two former members of the Barrage: defenseman Brian Spallina and goalie Greg Cattrano, as well as current Wings standout Geoff Snider (face-offs) and former Wings great Gary Gait (attackman).


Second team  

Attackmen: Gary Gait, Ryan Powell, Matt Danowski.

Midfielders: Kyle Harrison, Josh Sims, Kyle Dixon

Defensemen: Chris Passavia, Brian Spallina, Lee Zink

Face-off specialist: Geoff Snider

Goalie: Greg Cattrano


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines