follow us on...

Penn’s DeLuca, Spiro, Ohio State’s Haggerty (Unionville) are nominated for Tewaaraton Award

Thursday, 16th April 2009

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 4/16/09

Penn junior midfielders Ali DeLuca and Emma Spiro and Ohio State’s Kelly Haggerty (Unionville) have been named as nominees for the 2009 Tewaaraton Award.

DeLuca has 25 goals and eight assists as well as 18 groundballs and 13 draw controls for the third-ranked and undefeated Quakers (11-0). Spiro has 22 goals and three assists and leads the Quakers with 40 draw controls and 21 groundballs.

Haggerty, a junior attack, has emerged as one of the top scorers in the nation after collecting 24 goals and 19 assists as a sophomore. This year she has 47 goals and 35 assists for the 11-3 Buckeyes, ranked 13th in the nation.

Nominees were selected by coaches across all three divisions.  These nominees are one step closer in the pursuit of the Tewaaraton Trophy that will be given to one deserving female and male at the 9th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony on May 28, 2009.

Women’s Nominees

Hilary Bowen  Northwestern

Sarah Bullard Duke

Jillian Byers Notre Dame

Caroline Cryer  Duke

Sarah Dalton   Boston University

Carolyn Davis Duke

Ali DeLuca Penn

Sarah Downing Vanderbilt

Amber Falcone North Carolina

Molly Ford Georgetown

Kelly Haggerty Ohio State

Karri Ellen Johnson Maryland

Ashby Kaestner Georgetown

Morgan Lathrop Northwestern

Caitlyn McFadden Maryland

Holly McGarvie Princeton

Sarah Mollison Maryland

Hannah Nielsen Northwestern

Rachel Ray Adelphi

Katie Rowan Syracuse

Jenn Russell North Carolina

Emma Spiro Penn

Erin Tochihara Princeton

Julie  Wadland  Dartmouth

Blair Weymouth Virginia

Men’s Nominees

Matt Abbott Syracuse

Garrett Billings Virginia

Billy Bitter North Carolina

Jeremy Blevins UMBC

Shamel Bratton Virginia

Jordan Burke Brown

Jay Card Hofstra

Brandon Corp Colgate

Ned Crotty Duke

Danny Glading Virginia

John Glynn Cornell

Zack Greer Bryant

Dan Hardy Syracuse

Shane Koppens Loyola

Mark Kovler Princeton

Jack McBride Princeton

Kenny Nims Syracuse

Doc Schneider Massachusetts

Max Seibald Cornell

Michael Timms Virginia

Scott Rodgers Notre Dame

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines