follow us on...

Laxers Hill (Malvern Prep), Souders (Emmaus) and Herzlich (Conestoga) are honored by Maxwell Football Club

Saturday, 12th December 2009

Categories Boy's/Men's, High School, Posted 12/12/09
From Staff Reports and Press Releases

Three Philly lacrosse players – Malvern Prep’s Bobby Hill, Emmaus’ Ty Souders and Conestoga’s Brad Herzlich – that also star in football have been named 2009 Mini Max High School Award winners for the Tri-State region for their efforts on and off the gridiron.

The announcement was made by Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski. The 50 players selected are from schools located in South Jersey, the five county Philadelphia area and the Lehigh Valley. Players were nominated by their coaches throughout the 2009 season and were evaluated based on a criteria that includes; academics, football performance and community service.

The Mini Max Award recipients will be honored at a dinner on Thursday, Jan. 14, 2010 at the Drexelbrook Catering Ballroom in Drexel Hill. The awards dinner is open to the public and tickets are available on the Club’s website

Hill was a First-Team pick at midfield and an All-American last year for the Friars’ lacrosse team. He has signed a National Letter of Intent to play at Virginia. Hill, who plays running back and defensive back in football, helped the Friars go 7-4 and tie for the Inter-Ac League championship. He rushed for 1,040 yards and scored 96 points.

Souders was a Third-Team pick on defense who led the Green Hornets’ lax team to the District 11 championship and into the state quarterfinals. He has signed a National Letter of Intent to play lacrosse at Lehigh. Souders, who plays fullback and linebacker for the Emmaus football team, led the team to a 6-6 record and into the District 11 playoffs.

Herzlich was an attackman on a Conestoga lacrosse team that won the District 1 championship and advanced to the state finals, finishing 24-2 overall. In football, he played linebacker and tight end and posted 107 tackles for the Pioneers. Conestoga went 9-4 and advanced to the District 1 playoffs.

The Maxwell Football Club will select one player from the group of Mini Max winners as the winner of the 25th Jim Henry Award for the Regional High School Player of the Year. The Jim Henry Award will be announced on January 14, 2010 and the formal presentation of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club National Awards Dinner to he held at Harrah’s Atlantic City on March 5, 2010.

Recent winners of the Jim Henry Award include Daniel Persa (Bethlehem Liberty H.S.), Brent Caprio (Mainland Regional H.S.), Steven Rizzo (Audubon H.S.), Pat Devlin (Downingtown East H.S.), Ryan Greiser (Pennridge H.S.), Dan Connor (Strath Haven H.S.) and Austin Scott (Parkland H.S).

Tags: , ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines