follow us on...

Hofstra’s Colleluori (Ridley) needs your vote for Lowe’s Sr. CLASS award

Thursday, 9th April 2009

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 4/9/09

Lacrosse fans can support Ridley graduate Michael Colleluori, a senior midfielder at Hofstra University, in the voting for the 2009 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in the Men’s Lacrosse division.

Colleluori is one of 10 finalists for the award which is given to the senior that exhibits contributions both on and off the field. Colleluori is currently in third place with 11 percent of the vote.

Fan balloting counts for one-third of the total with the remaining two-thirds determined by NCAA Division I coaches and national media members. Click here to vote.

Colleluori has played a significant role in helping build the HEADstrong Foundation into a household name in the lacrosse world. The HEADstrong Foundation has raised over $200,000 in the fight against blood cancer in the name of Colleluori’s older brother, Nick “Head” Colleluori, who passed away in 2006 due to non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma.

These Lowe’s finalists have been selected as finalists for the Nationwide balloting, which began in late March and continues until May 7. The winner of the third annual award will receive the honor during the NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Championships in Foxboro, Mass.

Colleluori is second on Hofstra in scoring with 10 goals and 13 assists in eight games The Pride are 7-1 and ranked fifth in the nation.

The finalists were chosen from a list of 30 candidates based on qualities that define a complete student-athlete. These four primary areas of criteria include: classroom, community, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award has developed into the nation’s premier tribute to college seniors. The award, which launched in 2001 with college basketball, is now in its third year for men’s lacrosse. Cornell goaltender Matt McMonagle (Episcopal Academy) won the inaugural lacrosse division award in 2007 and Syracuse attack Mike Leveille was the 2008 recipient.



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines