follow us on...

Cabrini’s Grugan (Ridley), Gettysburg’s O’Donnell (La Salle) afre Division III second-team All-Americans

Tuesday, 19th May 2009

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 5/19/09

    Cabrini junior attackman Casey Grugan (Ridley) and Gettysburg senior midfielder Tom O’Donnell (La Salle) were named second-team Division III All-Americans today by the United Dtates Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association.

    Grugan, the Colonial States Athletic Conference Player of the Year for the second consecutive year, set Cabrini’s single-season mark for points, totaling 96 on 52 goals and 44 assists. He finished the season listed fourth nationally among Division III players in points per game (5.05) and assists per game (2.32).

   Grugan will begin his final season with the Cavaliers riding the nation’s longest consecutive points streak at 57 games. He has also scored at least one goal in 54 straight games, matching a 32-year old Division III record.

O’Donnell, the Centennial Conference Player of the Year, led the Bullets to their sixth straight conference crown and into the NCAA championship game Sunday against SUNY-Cortland at Foxborough Stadium (noon). O’Donnell has 18 goals and 16 assists for the 16-3 Bullets.

    Denison senior midfielder Dan Maude (Haverford School) earned third-team honors and the following Philly players were named honorable mention All-Americans:

    Attack: Cabrini senior Scott Reimer (Downingtown West) and Haverford College sophomore Max Hjelm (Conestoga).

    Midfield/face-offs:  Washington College senior Thayer Damm (La Salle).

    Defenseman: Cabrini’s Joe Monroe (Marple Newtown) and Jeff Moore (Springfield-Delco); Wesley’s Kirk Waldie (Ridley) and goalie Jim McCleaft (Sun Valley).

USILA Division III All America Teams

First Team


Jimmy Dailey, Stevenson University

Steve Kazimer, Stevenson University

Zachary Thomas, Roanoke College


Kylor Berkman, Salisbury University

Joe Morgan, Cortland State

Mike Stone, Middlebury College

Long Pole Midfielder

Tom Kehoe, Gettysburg College

Short Stick Specialist

P. J. Santora, St. Lawrence University


Luke Lemon, Cortland State

Terence Malangone, Wesleyan University

Neth Wiedemann, Ithaca College


Gordon Cohen, Washington College

Second Team


Casey Grugan, Cabrini College

D. J. Hessler, Tufts University

Matt Keating, Stevens Institute of Technology


Nicola Bevacqua, Stevenson University

Tom O’Donnell (La Salle), Gettysburg College

Harry St. John, Washington and Lee University

Long Pole Midfield

Stephen Simmons, Roanoke College

Short Stick Specialist

David Wood, St. John Fisher College


Jared Pabis, Western New England College

Yanni Peary, Gettysburg College

Mike Simon, Stevenson University


Dave Decker, Stevens Institute of Technology

Third Team


Russ Follansbee, Wesleyan University

Zachary Pucci, Gettysburg College

Brodie Savoie, Western New England College


Charles Carlson, Roanoke College

Dan Maude (Haverford School), Denison University

Alex Slauson, St. Lawrence University

Long Pole Midfield

Brian Morrissey, Williams College

Short Stick Specialist

Eric Parah, Cortland State


Sam Love, Roanoke College

Kevin Maynard, Salisbury University

James Shanahan, Washington and Lee University


Zach Furshman, Gettysburg College

Honorable Mention


Jake Beebe, Springfield College

Peter Carroll, St. Lawrence University

Matt Cononne, Salisbury University

Nick Cosco, Endicott College

Tom Costanza, SUNY Geneseo

Richie Ford, Stevenson University

Greg Gibbons, Clarkson University

Max Hjelm (Conestoga), Haverford College

Will Keigler, Washington and Lee University

Matt Levesque, Skidmore College

Patrick, March Roanoke College

Clem McNally, Tufts University

J. R. Oreskovich, Stevens Institute of Technology

Scott Reimer (Downingtown West), Cabrini College

Alec Siefert, Ithaca College

Tyler Tolson, Lynchburg College


Ryan Alexander, St. Mary’s College

Craig Bunker, Colby College

Dave Campbell, Middlebury College

Scott Castle, Nazareth College

Thayer Damm (La Salle), Washington College

Christopher, DeLuca Cortland State

Marc, DiPasquale, St. Mary’s College

Greg Furshman, Stevenson University

Michael Hatton, McDaniel College

Nic Heckman, Ithaca College

Skyler Hopkins, Middlebury College

Kyle Jett, Hampden-Sydney College

Scott Kukis, Western New England College

Eddie O’Reilly, Endicott College

Mike Recor, SUNY Oswego

Dolan Simmons, Eastern Connecticut State University

Owen Smith, Bowdoin College

Justin Tuma, Roanoke College

Michael Von Kamecke, Salisbury University

Jordan Yarboro, Tufts University


John Deluca, Muhlenberg College

Eytan Saperstein, Tufts University

Tim Kurpis, Gettysburg College

Steve Lane

, Eastern Connecticut State University

Daniel MacRae, Rochester Institute of Technology

Joseph May, SUNY Geneseo

Steve Mersinger, York College

Joe Monroe (Marple Newtown), Cabrini College

Jeff Moore (Sprinringfield-Delco), Cabrini College

Matt Noble, St. Lawrence University

Andrew Repko, Bowdoin College

Trevor Scoon, St. Lawerence College

Kirk Waldie (Ridley), Wesley College


Thomas Bowers, Montclair State University

Dennis Costanza, SUNY Geneseo

Michael Gerbush, Williams College

Eric Hagarty, Endicott College

Chris Keinath, Union College

Connor Locke, Washington and Lee University

James, McCleaft (Sun Valley), Wesley College

Tags: , ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines