follow us on...

Avon Grove club wins “A” crown at Brian Houshower Festival; Washington Twp. takes “B” Division title

Monday, 2nd November 2009

Categories Boy's/Men's, Features, Posted 11/2/09

Tom Hammond scored the game-winner n the final minutes of play to lift the Avon Grove club team to a 6-5 thriller over the Dawgs A (Downingtown West) in the “A” Division finals of the 6th Annual Brian Houshower Lacrosse Festival Saturday at Downingtown Middle School.

The Dawgs jumped out to a 4-1 halftime lead, but Avon Grove battled back. AG drew within 4-2 on a fastbreak goal by Pat Brodie, with an assist from Damian Sobiesky.

Anthony DiNenno, who dominated at the face-off X, helped set up another possession that led to the third score as Trevor Hornby converted the goal. DiNenno won another face-off and Tim Golder (two goals) tied it, 4-4. The teams traded goals before Hammond notched the game-winner off a feed from Hornby.

The Avon Grove defense was led by Matt Frey, David Cardile, Darren Kushto, Jack Herrington and freshman LSM Matt King while Tom Malone was strong in goal. The rest of the Avon Grove roster included Eric Waibel, Matt Schroeder, Zach Wegman, Matt Darkow, Mackenzie Turnbull, Brendan Fabian and Colin Peck.

Avon Grove, which won the Blue Division, also defeated Conshy Lacrosse A (Plymouth Whitemash), the Lions (Penncrest) and Green Eagles (Bishop Shanahan). The Dawgs claimed the Gold Division title.

Washington Township (N.J.) won the “B” Division crown, toppling the Blue Eagles, 3-2, in the title game.

Twenty teams participated in the event to remember the spirit of Houshower, the Downingtown West student-athlete who died six years ago in a car accident at the age of 16. Despite a light drizzle all day and a muddy field, the players were credited by directors and coaches for their sportsmanship in Brian’s memory.

Roster for Washington Township (B Division champion)

Ryan     Maiden             FR        3          Attack

Alex      Dennery            FR        47         Attack

Brant    Foussadier        FR        44         Goalie

Collin    Broderick          SO       25         Attack

Patrick  Mullin                SO       13         Long Pole

Mike     Ginn                 SO       14         Middie

Brandon Wattingham     SO       12         Middie

Chris     Paulo                SO       4          Middie

Ian        Mitchell             SO       8          Middie

Brian     Robbins            SO       20         Middie

Jeremy Pierson             JR        24         Attack

Matt      Birgman            JR        18         Defense

Mark     Maglio              JR        15         Defense

Ryan     Francisco          JR        10         Defense

Matt      Borie                JR        46         Goalie

Reggie  Torrevillas         JR        21         Long Pole

Steven  Chapman          JR        1          Middie

Josh     Rhodes             SR                    Defense

Rayd    Barqawi            JR                    Attack



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines