follow us on...

Scholastic roundup: Owen J. Roberts boys claim PAC-10 title with 15-4 win over Spring-Ford

Saturday, 17th May 2008

Categories Boy's/Men's, Girl's/Women's, High School, Posted 5/17/08

Morgan Braendel scored four goals and host Owen J. Roberts bolted to a 9-0 halftime lead en route to a 15-4 rout of Spring-Ford Friday night for the Pioneer Athletic Conference boys’ championship.

The top-seeded Wildcats (15-4) clinched a berth in the Eastern Pennsylvania Scholastic Lacrosse Association (EPSLA) playoffs. The Rams finished 11-8.

Jordan Hafer added three goals for Owen J. Roberts while Mike Costanzo and Kohl Batdorf had two apiece. Goalie Ryan Kay made six saves. Kyle Niemann, Tyler Novotny, Brian Pantelich and Mat Pham each scored once for Spring-Ford.

Conestoga 14, Penn Charter 12

Tanner Rogers scored the game-winner with just over two minutes to play and Matt Dougherty scored four goals to pace the host Pioneers (13-7) to a non-league victory over the Quakers (13-11).

Both teams are expected to earn a berth in the EPSLA playoffs. Conestoga finished in a fourth-place tie in the Central League and Penn Charter was fifth in the Inter-Ac League.


Boyertown 14, Spring-Ford 8

Maggie Tamasitis collected five goals and two assists while Sam Mazzie added four as the Bears (17-3) cruised to their fifth straight Pioneer Athletic Conference championship at Owen J. Roberts.

Ashley Harman turned aside 14 shots in the goal and Boyertown broke open an 8-6 game with four unanswered goals in the second half. Jess Schubach led the Rams (13-7) with four goals.



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines