follow us on...

PLA announces nine PA Hall of Fame inductees for 2009

Wednesday, 3rd December 2008

Categories Boy's/Men's, Girl's/Women's, Posted 12/3/08

The Philadelphia Lacrosse Association (PLA) has announced the Class of 2009 for induction into the Pennsylvania Lacrosse Hall of Fame (Eastern Chapter) and will hold its ceremony Feb. 7 at the Desmond Hotel in Great Valley.

At the banquet, the PLA will also recognize a recipient of the Norm Treinish Award, given to a leader in youth lacrosse.

The 2009 honorees include:

*Gertrude Dunn (posthumously): An outstanding all-around athlete who is also a member of the West Chester Athletics Hall of Fame. Dunn played on the U.S. national team from 1957 to 1963 and was a member of the U.S. team that toured Great Britain and Ireland in 1957. She also served as an umpire for 20 years in the Philadelphia Women’s Lacrosse Association.

*George Kruse (posthumously): He was a Kutztown University standout and coach at Malvern Prep (1987-91) as well as a respected official. Kruse also was known for his leadership and mentoring skills and worked as a counselor at Glen Mills School and as an administrator at the Devereaux Foundation. He died tragically in 1993 in a car accident.

*Jennifer O’Donnell: She has been umpiring women’s lacrosse for 25 years in the Philadelphia Chapter and is recognized as one of the most respected umpires in the nation. An All-American scholastic player at Perkiomen Valley, she graduated from West Chester and has been rated to umpire in International games for 14 years. She has worked 18 Division I Final Four tournaments and 10 championship games. She still coaches field hockey at Bayard Rustin.

*Bonnie Rosen: the current Temple women’s head coach and a graduate of Harriton High, she started the program at Connecticut. She led Virginia to the 1991 NCAA Division I National Championship and played for the US National Team for nearly 10 years, playing in several World Cup tournaments. She is also a 2002 inductee of the Jewish Sports Hall of Fame and was named one of Inside Lacrosse Magazine’s Top 50 All-Time Players. Rosen also is serves on various committees and boards.

*Margery Watson: She started the lacrosse program at Ursinus College where she compiled a 199-19 mark during a 25-year career as head coach. She also served as head coach of the U.S. National team coach in 1980 and then served for nine years as an assistant coach on the national team.

*Edward R. (Randy) Marks: He was an assistant at Lower Merion and was a successful head coach at Villanova for 24 years despite well-documented budgetary constraints. He now is an assistant coach at Franklin & Marshall.

*Marcia Brumbach: She coached at Boyertown High for 26 years, compiling a record of 218-62-10, winning 14 league championships and four District 1 (state) championships while coaching over 20 All-Americans. Her Bears posted a state-record 56 straight wins and she also coached the U.S. and Japan in International competition. She was named to the Concord College (W.V.) Hall of Fame in 2001, having participated in field hockey, basketball, volleyball, softball, track and field and swimming – but not lacrosse. She also was an accomplished basketball coach who developed successful defensive schemes for lacrosse from the basketball court.

*Gregory Traynor: A former standout player for the Philadelphia Wings, he was a two-time All-American (1990-91) at Conestoga. He played midfield for the U.S. in the 1998 World Lacrosse Championships and helped his team edge Canada, 15-14, in overtime, in what is considered one of the best lacrosse games ever.

*John Begier: The current Radnor High head boys’ coach, he was a 1983 high school All-American at Haverford School who played at Virginia when it reached the national championship game.

Over three hundred friends, family members and lacrosse enthusiasts are expected to attend the event to honor this highly accomplished group of individuals. Tickets to the Hall of Fame banquet are still available; click here for more information.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines