follow us on...

Arrowhead L.C. claims Rutgers division crown

Thursday, 7th August 2008

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club, Posted 8/7/08

The Black team from the Arrowhead Lacrosse Club went 6-0 and won three overtime games to win the Blue Division championship at the Rutgers MVP Lacrosse Tournament last weekend.

Arrowhead Black, comprised of players from Pennsbury High, defeated teams from Long Island, New Jersey and Massachusetts. A combination of solid defense and clutch scoring from many of the offensive players helped earn the team victory. This was a true team effort, as in every OT game, the winning goal was scored and assisted by a different player.

By virtue of winning the championship, Arrowhead has earned an invitation to the Dick’s Sporting Goods Tournament of Champions in Wesley Chapel, Fla., in January 2009.
The roster included attackmen Danny Caggia, Josh Caven, Justin Merola, Peter Sweetland and Calvin Hopkins.

The middies were Patrick Bonnot, Shawn Caven, Tim Considine, Ryan Eavers, Corey Hook, Ricky Jutkiewicz, Joe Koziol, Andrew Weik, and Max Verrall.

The defenders were Ryan Brim, Cameron Crawford, Dan Marr, Ben McDannell, Anthony Natale, and Sean Rinko and the goalie was David Cutler.
Archies LC also wins at Rutgers
The Archies Lacrosse Club, comprised mostly of Abington Youth Lacrosse alumni, won the Red Division championship last weekend at the Rutgers MVP Tournament.
The Archies LC went 7-0 and won its division with a 6-5 decision over the Roughrides of Maryland when All-American Peter Schwartz (La Salle) scored the game-winner in overtime.
The Archies roster included attackmen Shane Carr (Penn Charter), Ryan Ambler (Abington) and Joey Jones (Abington), middies Schwartz, Ryan Eidenshink (La Salle), Rich Rambo (Abington), Anthony Hensley (Abington), Kenny Lankford (St. Joseph’s Prep), and Dustin Mangin (Archbishop Wood), long-stick middies Bill Bonner (St. Joseph’s Prep), Pat McDermott (Upper Dublin) and Tim Lomady (Abington) and defenders Tucker Durkin (La Salle), Paul Berger (Abington) and Tim Durkin (La Salle).
Ben Worthington (Archbishop Wood) was the goalie. The coaches were Dane Mangin, Tony Aquilino and Mike Jones.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines